1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

12 Inch USB to RS232 Serial Adapter FTDI Chip 920K with LED

GM-FTDI-A12
$19.95
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Has both transmit & receive lights

By: Rocketman  on 2017-08-29

Good thing about this is that it has transmit & receive lights. Driver is in Windows 7 already.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Sergio Guijarro  on 2016-03-25

Works for OSX El Capitan
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Guydio  on 2016-03-15

Works flawlessly on every serial device i have tried
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very good quality drivers

By: Andrew Frey  on 2016-02-06

Very good quality drivers. No stability issues. I replaced a cheaper one with this adapter because the cheaper one's drivers caused windows 7 bluescreen when large amounts of traffic went through it. This one's drivers have never caused any problems
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
FTDI Chipset means it works for us

By: Nathan Dibble  on 2015-10-21

This USB to RS232 adapter uses the FTDI chipset, in which we've had great luck with. We program 2way radios, and this was the adapter that worked when many others didn't. We finally figured out why: the others, which were branded differently, were using the Prolific chipset. This GearMo with the FTDI chipset worked like a champ, and I purchased one for my personal kit.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Roy Lord  on 2015-10-16

worked as expected
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Gill  on 2015-09-14

Works great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works flawlessly with win7, no crashes

By: N. Duong  on 2015-09-06

I use these things daily to perform configuration on network gear. Finally found one that works flawelessly, even with win7! The 3 LEDs leave no doubt as to whether characters are being sent or received in case the connected device is not responding. Excellent purchase!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked as planning, no problems Yet.

By: Albert Deeb  on 2015-08-26

Worked as planning, no problems Yet.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
If using USB to Serial say for Cisco Rollovet, this cable works perfectly for me.

By: bdmeyer  on 2015-08-04

Works first time right out of the box
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great low-cost FTDI chip serial adapters

By: Ashley Golden  on 2015-06-26

Great low-cost FTDI chip serial adapters. The FTDI models are a lot more stable than the ones you can buy at Radioshack. Recommend these for all your serial to USB needs.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works like a charm

By: ClementFamily  on 2015-06-23

I have had issues with genuine prolific devices so after some research I went with this FTDI based device. Works like a charm! I also like the short cord.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Three Stars

By: Woof  on 2015-06-21

Absolutley plug and play with no driver to add off a disk or download
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Rick A Dew  on 2015-06-12

Works great!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Functions as described. Works with CM11 X10 controller.

By: William P. Quinlan  on 2015-03-22

Functions as described. Works with CM11 X10 controller.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Reliable Serial Adapter, no BSOD!

By: Neil  on 2014-12-19

A very good Serial Adapter, I have two of these and both work very well. It has the FTDI chip which have a good driver and will not blue screen your computer, unlike the other adapter which come with a cheaper chip. If you are in need of a good adapter, your search is now over.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This item is worth the price because it works.

By: Dave T  on 2014-11-19

After trying another, less expensive product, that did not work, I purchased this item. It worked as PnP (plug and play) on my Toshiba Cosmio laptop. I did not need to use the provided software, my computer found it by itself. (be sure you have an internet connection). I used this item for a class I took in programing a GE Versa Max micro controller. It works flawlessly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: William Johnson  on 2014-10-23

Worked Good
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: JAMES L. STEWART  on 2014-09-04

works great with win 8.1
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works with W7 or 8

By: NH Retiree  on 2014-08-23

Unit replaces an older one that would not work with latest upgrade to Windows 7, or at all with Windows 8
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Dennis  on 2014-08-19

Dennis
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works after driver installation was figured out

By: PLA  on 2014-07-13

It works as advertised once the drivers were installed. The installation manual on the CD was useless for Windows 7 Pro. I'm not a techi so it took a while.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Jeanne B.  on 2014-07-03

Arrived quickly and product as described. Had no problem with this adapter. Will purchase again if needed.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked great

By: Constantine  on 2014-05-13

Used this to configure some ethernet switches, worked without a hitch on Windows 7 with Putty as my terminal program. I have also used it on a Windows 8.1 machine more recently as well as under Windows XP, and both have worked great, no complaints.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great

By: Tom  on 2014-03-02

I need to have serial convertor to connect old RS-232 device and worked without problem. It is small enough so that I can carry around without problem.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Simple, works properly.

By: Sasha  on 2014-02-10

The RX/TX lights are both incredibly useful and highly reassuring. They give me confidence when I open a port and start sending data that it's going where I think it should. As this is built around the FTDI line of chips, it's very robust and cross-platform driver support is excellent. I wish there were a flavor with all of the serial status lights broken out, but with a short cord. Alas, I had to get the other flavor with a whole meter more cable than I wanted. So far, as far as I'm concerned, this is the One True USB-to-RS232 Adapter.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I've tried MANY USB serial adapters...

By: cutterjohn  on 2014-01-04

in the past all meeting with pretty terrible results for anything but the most basic usage. This adapter USB/serial has been the best one that I've found so far(recommended on another site) and is the only one that I've found that actually behaves more like a dedicated serial port while all of the others. I went through so MANY that I don't even recall the chipsets any longer as for a while I was just buying almost every different brand that I could find before giving up for a long time. Usually these crappier adapters would work OK for low data rates then flake out @ anything about say 1.2kbps while this FTDI has managed to hang on to 128kbps which is nice as I had been thinking about my next desktop build restricting motherboard choices to the few that still had physical rs232 ports -> a mb I wouldn't ordinarily have chosen with other compromises that I would not like. So if you're like me and had been thinking about looking for something with a builtin serial port or buying/making a dedicated card try one of these adapters, just make sure it has the FTDI chipset.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works great

By: Dave  on 2013-12-15

I rated this at 4 stars for a couple of reasons-- The factory packaging is not like the picture. It actually has the adapter and disc wrapped in bubble wrap and that placed in a cellophane type of package. The drivers on the disc are rather old and the one on the GearMo website that says is the latest driver is one version behind (2.08.28 vs 2.08.30). I went to the FTDI site itself and downloaded the actual latest driver ([...] The drivers download in a self executable package that ran with no problems. The LEDs are on the board inside of the housing itself and does have a power, TX and RX but nothing indicating which is TX and RX. I would definitely recommend this if you only require a short adapter. It appears to be well made, has a thick shielded cable with a RF suppressor and is solidly mounted in the plastic case. The USB also fit very good and tight into the computer and has a dust cap for it. The adapter was recognized automatically in Win7 but I still updated to the latest driver. After installing the driver onto a WinXP virtual machine it was also recognized with no problems. I used this to connect to an automotive diagnostic piece of equipment and it recognized it fine with the default settings without any drops. This was good as I am not sure if anyone has ever tried to do this yet without purchasing a computer with a DB9 connection for the equipment I am using. I am very happy with this adapter and after doing a lot of research on chipsets and brands out there glad I chose this one.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It works.

By: Philip Branson  on 2013-12-06

Worked like a charm. Easy install, and unlike others, actually worked flawlessly. Using on W7. Lights monitor action, but not needed for me since app worked right off.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Simply Works

By: Eric B Lipanovich  on 2013-11-13

Works with all devices I've tried it with (on W7 & XP). Easy to install. Had problems with other adapters (that used a different chipset).
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product, decent price

By: Turbo97se  on 2013-09-21

I have tried many different USB to serial converters and not cheap ones either. Prolific, Keyspan etc ... I could not get any of them to work with my application. This one has FTDI chipset and works perfectly it also has LEDs to show connection and communication status .. drivers can be downloaded for both Mac and Windows. I can run this on my Mac with windows in a virtual environment and it works floorlessly. Very happy indeed. I am going to purchase another.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great CHIP, Great product, all around awesome!

By: BMP  on 2013-07-14

I purchased this USB to Serial adapter because another I had was giving me fits (Driver and manf issues). I picked p this guy last minute just before heading to a customers site. I have used it almost 80 hours since I purchased and it has yet to fail me, swapping consoles, changing bit rates etc, nothing fazes it! The send and receive lights are a nice touch (its nice to know your sending data to an unresponsive console before you reboot something). Over all it was low price, well built, and just keeps on performing. Pros: Low cost Good design RX\TX lights Super easy drivers (I have used it on win7/8 server 2003/2008/2012 Linux distros) works with all console settings I have tried (Various CISCO, Firewalls, Security Appliances, Door programmers, Py Boards etc). Got here in one day (overnight)! Cons: little bigger than my last one but not huge by any stretch. comes with a little mini disk (just don't like mini disks) USB cord is short but not a deal breaker, I think there was one with a longer cord from the same Manf, but it was something like 6'. another inch on the cord would be perfect, but again its no big deal, so I didn't drop a star.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB/Serial Adapter Works Great!

By: Trekman  on 2013-07-06

It worked great with the weather station I have that has a serial connector. Other Serial/USB adapters did not work as well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Another cable was terrible and this one connects every time.

By: John DeSilva  on 2013-06-19

Another cable was terrible and this one connects every time. It is short so you need another generic cable to extend its reach but it works like a charm.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
The best ever

By: Emileigh  on 2013-05-09

I have tried a lot of USB serial adapters and this is really the best. The driver was perfect, I have used it up to 9600 baud on a cranky (and I mean cranky) serial connection, I may be buying a few more!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
A fine FTDI based adapter

By: RB - Mesa AZ  on 2013-05-09

This proudct is in use as a converter for various RS-232 devices and my amateir radio station. It was a snap to install and has functioned perfectly over the past 6 months.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Actually Works

By: Matt M  on 2013-04-23

I have a very finicky application that I use USB to serial adapters for. I have tried several different kinds, but was never able to program the board over any of them reliably in Windows 7 x64. This one does. The TX RX lights are a nice touch. I know when my application has failed sooner now, because I can see that the bus is quiet. I would say the only knock is the casing. I don't think this would hold up in a rugged environment like the fully molded adapters that are out there, but I grab this one first everytime because it is reliable and has the LEDs.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works

By: Joe Bruno  on 2013-04-06

If you have any problems with Prolific types, this will solve your problem. I have used the Prolific but it sometimes will not show up until you either unplug and plug it back in or do a reboot.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
FTDI works where Prolific fails; not packaged as pictured

By: D. Orders  on 2013-04-04

I have a number of Prolific based USB to serial adapters, but some just don't work with some of our serial gear. This little adapter works with everything! My only slightly negative comment is that as another reviewer wrote, it does not come in the pretty box as pictured, just in a plastic bag. However, it does not appear to have been used and I didn't notice any rust, so I don't have a problem with it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works Great!

By: John J Quasarano  on 2013-03-27

Needed to use a 9-pin serial port on my 'newer' Windows 7 machine at the office. This device works perfectly as advertised.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good product...

By: Peter A. Johnson  on 2013-02-25

Works as advertised, does what it says. After installation, the device was recognized and worked for me. Man, I dislike working with serial cables...
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
One of the few USB Serial adapters that works

By: Amazon Customer  on 2013-02-12

If you need to make a USB appliance speak RS232C, this is the adapter to buy. Most of the other flavors seem to speak some pigeon dialect of USB that will not work with some legacy data acquisition or RLC control systems. I haven't found a place where this one fails yet.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
great

By: Slaybot  on 2013-02-11

Much better than the old version with the crappy chipset. would blue screen my windows machine all the time. This one doesnt crash me at all!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
does the job.

By: pjv  on 2013-01-28

Trying to find a windows seven compatible device to accept usb is tough. This one did the job. I do not use it often, The first time I used it i DID GET A BLUE SCREEN AFTER i USED IT. Subsequent uses were limited but it has not returned.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It works for rig interface

By: H.T. R.  on 2013-01-01

Using with rig interface for Ham Radio to computer with Ham Radio Deluxe rig control and logging software. Plug and play.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Windows XP required the CD, all other newer versions of Windows - Plug and Play

By: Patrick E. Mcfadden  on 2012-11-24

This is a solid built device. I have early 20 somethings using this device all over the hospital and all three are still in one piece. I just plugged it in (except XP Pro) and waited for 2 minutes while the drivers were installed and it was ready to go. I can easily reconfigure the COM Ports for this device. All in all, I recommend this device.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
No problems

By: Roger  on 2012-11-23

Plugged into two different laptops and had no issues on either one. The first is an HP G72 laptop running Windows 7 Home version. The second laptop is an IBM Thinkpad Lenovo running Windows XP Professional. Both laptops found the new hardware and found a driver automatically, no disc required. One minor issue on the IBM, it installed itself using a high COM port number (5 or 6, can't recall), the terminal software that I am using only has COM1-COM4 to choose from. Fixing was simple by going to device manager and assigning it to a lower COM port. Purchased for two reasons: 1. Tera Term, the terminal software mentioned above used on the IBM laptop. 2. MicroChip Picstart programmer - programming PIC processor ICs using the HP laptop. I have had no issues for either use on either laptop - Hope the same for you.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Simply Works

By: Dan M. Beadle  on 2012-11-14

I have used Keyspan in the past. They worked great. But when I upgraded from Win7/32 to Win7/64, I got BSOD crashes from Keyspan. So... A search for a new standard. This single port device works great. It has a short cable - about 6". That is great in my situation, but you may prefer a longer cable. The FTDI drivers are mature, but are also up-to-date. They are Win7 certified. (I haven't taken the leap to Win8 yet). The performance of the product is outstanding. And this device is very inexpensive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as intended

By: Maxwell JR  on 2012-10-15

No problems, drivers CD was great. Product worked just fine on a Win 7 64 machine using an old Mem Card reader.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
works with windows 7

By: Ebeneezer  on 2012-03-25

This item will work with windows 7 but you may have to have windows update find the drivers for you. If you use the installation CD you may have to hunt for the right drivers and they don't say they are specifically for windows 7. There is an e-mail contact for the manufacturer but you will have to go the website to get it. After contacting them, they sent me a setup (.exe) file but Windows Update had already located what I needed, so I didn't need to use it. Also, if properly installed the device will show up in device manager as a port device and not as a USB device. Once installed the device worked for my older Magellan GPS unit. I would have given it five stars but the setup could stand a little work.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works on Windows 7 out of the box; works with RS 22-805 Meter

By: Chris  on 2012-02-05

Windows 7 found and installed a driver without the need for the included CDROM, on both Windows 7 Starter (netbook) and on Home Premium. The translucent adapter has internal indicator lights for transmit and receive, which aid in diagnosing com port setup. The serial connector is male with jack sockets, so it accepts a standard DB9 extension cable. I picked this up to use with a RS 22-805 meter, which is equipped with a DB9 serial port, and I am happy to report that I can capture meter readings to a file on a Windows 7 laptop. Unrelated to the reviewed adapter, but to the subject of meter reading capture, Radio Shack's ScopeView utility did not cooperate on installing and running on Windows 7. So I modified a circa-2002 MSDN serial example (NetSerialComm) to have the required features to support data capture to file.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works on Linux out of the box

By: Jorge M  on 2012-01-03

The reason I bought this item is because my old USB-Serial adapter would not work with a Freescale QSB I acquired, not even under Linux where the adapter had worked before with other devices. I have a breakout board that uses the FTDI chip and I've never had issues with it, so I thought a FTDI based USB-Serial adapter would be equally reliable, and I was right. As soon as it arrived, I plugged it into my Linux notebook and it was identified without installing any drivers, then I plugged into my Freescale QSB, setup Minicom, then power up the QSB and I could see the console printing the boot information. Now I can access U-boot on my board. The OLD USB-Serial adapter I refer to above, is one of those Chinese PL2303 based adapters, I mean based, because they don't really use the Prolific chip but rather a copy of it. In my country (Colombia) you can only get those, and it gave me a bunch of headaches since the latest Proliant driver doesn't work with it under Windows, and for Linux works most of the time but not with all devices.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Price

By: Eye Of The Needle  on 2011-11-25

Love it! Could not beat the price or service. I tried to purchase this item in the big blue and yellow box store but they wanted three times the price. ???????
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
great quality serial to usb adapter

By: J. Basham  on 2011-11-12

i plugged it in, windows 7 downloads a driver, then it works. I used it with cisco console cable, i used it on an outback power systems mate, works fine. great quality item for all the old junk with serial ports. has a little LED on it that flashes when it is a) initialised by the computer, and b) when your receiving data over it. I dont know if that is very helpful, but its there.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Windows 7 without the CD!

By: Nate Fox  on 2011-09-26

My goal was to purchase a USB-to-Serial adapter that I could just plug into any Windows 7 machine without using the CD. This adapter fits the bill! Windows downloads the driver from Windows Update seamlessly upon plugging it in for the first time. I'm using Windows 7 x64 SP1.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works with Win 7 x64 Home Premium

By: Jesse E  on 2011-08-13

TX/RX and Power indicator lights are a nice touch. included driver CD could not be recognized or read by my computer(-1 star). Windows located and automatically installed the proper drivers, has been working great with no issues after many many uses.