1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

GearMo Windows 10, 8, 7 Compatible USB Serial Adapter FTDI Chip RS232 DB-9 920K with TX/RX LED

GM-FTDI-LED
$22.95
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
3.3 out of 5 stars
It will work for now....but receiving can be fussy.

By: Thomas  on 2017-03-27

I'm using a laptop with Windows 8.1 on it and using it to control an RS-232 controlled receiver. Upon turn on I can command the radio immediately, however, I have to pull up the original control program and reset everything to get data from the receiver to go back to my laptop (confirmation data, S-meter data, etc.,)
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Truly plug and play!

By: mattcero  on 2017-02-12

WAY WAY better than the PL2303 based devices! This think plugged and played in both my Win 7 and Win 10 notebooks.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Glen O.  on 2017-02-05

Worked great with my windows 10 laptop and required communication software.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Have not tried with independent tester. but when hooked ...

By: Raymond S Doyle  on 2017-01-30

Have not tried with independent tester. but when hooked up to host PC and running app that transmits over comments port, the LEDS are not flashing. Faulty unit?
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I love being able to see the leds during operation

By: USMCguy  on 2017-01-26

I love being able to see the leds during operation. I no longer have to login to the computer to check to see if anything is being transmitted. The lights show line status of the RS232 protocol.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very Nice Adapter, Good Drivers (Win 7)

By: G B  on 2017-01-19

VERY nice adapter, and with the FTDI/connection lights, I don't need to wonder if it is working as it should be.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Fantastic FTDI for RS-232

By: Slone07  on 2017-01-16

Works like a champ with every device I've connected to it so far!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2017-01-16

excelente
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just need to remove attachment nuts from body of adapter ...

By: Amazon Customer  on 2017-01-13

Just need to remove attachment nuts from body of adapter or need to use an extension cable to get around problem. Works well for CAT control of my yaesu radio.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works well

By: Amazon Customer  on 2017-01-06

Works great with Mac, Linux, and Windows
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2017-01-04

Work as advertised
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Luke  on 2017-01-03

Worked as expected. Used it several times since purchasing and haven't seen any issues. Used it with win7 & win10 laptops.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-12-27

great product
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
My previous adapter stopped working for some applications, with ...

By: Mark M. Silbernagel  on 2016-12-15

My previous adapter stopped working for some applications, with Windows 10; communications would fail due to timing, apparently. This adapter allows adjusting inter-character timing and fixed the problem. The FTDI driver saved the day.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Sam R Goldsmith  on 2016-12-11

Works great with Serial connections to Dell & Cisco switches
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: jasond  on 2016-11-30

As expected
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-11-27

Works great. Don't waste your time with anything else.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Requires Driver Download

By: ITGuy  on 2016-11-02

I bought this device because of the activity lights that tell you that you are connected. A great feature to have when troubleshooting devices that are reacting slowly to terminal input. I was a little disappointed that there were no default drivers in Windows 7. This device requires a software download and installation before first use. This is the first time I've had to do that with a USB serial adapter. However the driver software was easy to find from the manufacturer's website.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: T. Richardson  on 2016-11-01

old dongal quit working with windows 10 upgrade, this restores serial port access to the laptop
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Cable, reasonably priced, great quality and works every time. Windows 10 compatible.

By: Cherie LeBouef  on 2016-10-28

This product works perfectly with Windows 10. I like the LED status lights also. It was exactly as it was described. I did not have any driver issues and it worked every time I ised it. It's a very sturdy cable and well constructed. I would recommend this product.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
There are better ones, at least for my purpose.

By: Eugene L.  on 2016-10-27

PC has to be rebooted to connect the unit with a CM11A active home device. By comparison the trendnet TU-S9 connects as soon as plugged into a USB port. But it does the job Eugene
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-10-27

Easy way to add serial port computer that needed one.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
True RS232 Compatibility

By: Tim O  on 2016-10-25

This device has passed all tests, for true RS232 hardware compatibility. No other USB / Serial adapter has performed this well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Gearmo has a great gizmo.

By: dDave  on 2016-10-23

This has really helped me transition form my Win XP laptop to a recent-vintage laptop while letting me console in to routers and other network gear.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Handy to have if even for occasional use.

By: Bill Sloan  on 2016-09-30

Great construction, nice longish cord. The LEDs helped me troubleshoot some RS232 connections by letting me see where and when the signals were active. Otherwise, it is very useful for making connection to RS232 devices from a USB port on newer laptops and tablets. Keep it handy.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good price, good delivery

By: Mark from Philadelphia  on 2016-09-29

Good price, good delivery
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Best version I've found with the built in Diagnostic LED's

By: Tek673  on 2016-09-28

Works perfectly, although you may have to hunt down and install the correct driver to make it work properly on a Windows 10 machine. The LED's are a nice extra so if you aren't connecting, you can verify it isn't the RS-232 hardware that is failing and can help troubleshoot what the problem actually is.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Decent rs232 to USB solution.

By: Nate the Great  on 2016-09-24

Purchased for use with PLC's and peripheral hardware. Comm lights are quite useful. Presentation is a bit over the top. I used this sucessfully to go online with a SCR drive that required a null modem connection. I had to use a gender changer style null modem adapter, which worked perfectly. Strangely enough when I tried to pair a standard null modem cable, I wasn't able to get comms (as indicated by the pilot lights on the unit). I look forward to thoroughly testing this cable on legacy serial based hardware.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great for my FPGA programmer

By: Austin Salgat  on 2016-09-18

Works great for my FPGA programmer. If you aren't sure which COM port it connects on, go to your device manager.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: BUCK444  on 2016-09-06

Great item, happy with my purchase.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
LEDs actuall work right

By: Alan Conley  on 2016-09-01

Works great. The LEDs work without pulling down the data lines like some other converters do. I write my own software and the LEDs are a must. I have used this on a NMEA interface with a Garmin GPS 76 and Drake R8A shortwave receiver with RS-232. It works flawlessly on my Acer Laptop with Win 8 and Gateway with Win7. I just shows up on an available COM port and works with FreeBASIC and puTTY.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I work with panels that require serial connection, this ...

By: Michael Patrick  on 2016-08-17

I work with panels that require serial connection, this one worked instantly. Many I have tried have failed to connect.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Valentin Nemes  on 2016-08-17

Great product, It works well with Sick Scanners and Quatronics
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Perfect!

By: STEVE A.  on 2016-07-31

Met all my requirements and was much better than the cable it replaced.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Marcia  on 2016-07-31

Worked beautifully on Windows 10 right out of the box.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
be awear.

By: hugh  on 2016-07-31

Be aware that securing nut are female and will conflict with female nut typical on Serial plugs..
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very reliable

By: montmeru  on 2016-07-30

FTDI chip. Performs. Need I say more?
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Rob M  on 2016-07-27

Works great, driver has lots of options, and having the led status available is great.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Worked good; did the job but has to be handled ...

By: Rafael C. Herrera III  on 2016-07-26

Worked good ;did the job but has to be handled with care or the case will come apart
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Good serial cable with high-state indicator with decent length cable

By: aj4mq  on 2016-07-15

not a bad design, but it could use a few options.. the LEDs are on for high, off for low, so you don't see which signals are actually being supplied. my old loopback tester has red for high, green for low, off for no signal, which is a much better indication.. installed very easily, but I have 2 other USB serial cables I use.. For anyone using these for programming ICs or certain areas, go into advanced settings under devices and change the latency to 4ms. 16ms (default) can be way too long to be recognized correctly in many devices (BetaBrite/Alpha message signs, even laplinks between computers, amateur radio tran/receivers)
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
good

By: Fabio  on 2016-05-27

it's works on windows, on linux, on virtual box in linux o.s.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Rix Evans  on 2016-05-22

Works with Windows 10 the first time. YAY!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Camilo L.  on 2016-05-20

very good product, exactly as described by the seller
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked Out of the box as described

By: Campbell  on 2016-05-18

Worked absolutely great out of the package interfacing with Cisco console cable on Windows 10. Give it a minute to grab a driver, plugin, connect to interface.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB TESTER WITH COMM LIGHTS FOR VISUAL CHECK OF PORTS OUTPUT

By: Linus Taylor  on 2016-04-28

Awesome feature allows communications visual active signals. Great Price!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Dean K. Gibson  on 2016-04-27

Nice to have the lights in the adapter.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
works great for programming

By: cabcad  on 2016-04-25

works great, better than some expensive units I've been using for years. I use this for industrial controls, such as PLC's and HMI's
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Nice Product

By: W. Wong  on 2016-04-22

This is a great USB to serial. It works great. The only drawback is that it has the hex screw which needed to be remove in order to work. This product need to be redesign with the thumb screws and it would get a 5 stars from me.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: ced1000z  on 2016-04-22

Works
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Anthony S.  on 2016-04-21

works
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great device for adding a serial (COM port) to your computer

By: CraigC  on 2016-04-12

After you install drivers (for Win 7 64 bit) from the CD, it works great. I have 3 other devices called Serial Gears to convert a USB to a COM port for serial devices, this one works just as good, very handy.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Worked like a charm

By: melvin jones  on 2016-04-12

Saved my behind as I program a lot of twoway radios and most use serial port. Most laptops don't have serial ports. Worked like a charm.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Finally, a solution for modern computers needing a serial port!

By: Tyler Pomerhn  on 2016-04-05

Works on my laptop with Windows 10, perfectly. Other dongles with the Prolific chipsets (2303 or otherwise) all were extremely problematic and would either fail to register as a COM port or would potentially crash the computer, altogether. This isn't just a "Windows issue" because I have other co-workers who need COM ports and own Macs, and the Prolific was a pain with them as well. This adapter, however, worked out of the box with no additional drivers and I have yet to have any issues with it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Christine V. Ales  on 2016-03-29

works great
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great device for Information Technology professionals using Windows 10

By: Russell A. Stevens  on 2016-03-20

Works first time, every time. Great device for Information Technology professionals using Windows 10.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Love having the RS232 test lights on the plug as ...

By: Kindle Customer  on 2016-03-17

Works really well. Love having the RS232 test lights on the plug as well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Love having the RS232 test lights on the plug as ...

By: WB9RRO  on 2016-03-17

Works really well. Love having the RS232 test lights on the plug as well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-03-15

windows 10 COMPATIBLE!!!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Juan luis Troncoso  on 2016-03-14

The best cable that I bought.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with windows, lights help with troubleshooting.

By: Mr. Happy Reviewer  on 2016-03-11

Works just fine with windows 7, 8 and 10. Also the lights help with troubleshooting because its easy to tell if the serial connection is passing data, even when you have the settings (baud, data bits, etc) wrong.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Thing works like a char on all of my devices

By: DJ Triple9  on 2016-03-10

Thing works like a char on all of my devices. One of the best USB to Serial adapters I have ever used.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-03-09

Suivre les instructions pour l`installation, et l`accessoire fonctionne très bien. C`est exactement ce que je voulais.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-03-04

Good stuff!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: James T.  on 2016-02-22

better than most, LED let you know what is happening
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Michael W. Rippey  on 2016-02-22

Use this to program AB plcs, and other equipment.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent adatpter.

By: Hank  on 2016-02-20

These are used for operating scientific instrument inside a VMware XP machine. They work flawlessly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Highly recommended

By: John Moore  on 2016-02-19

As a Network Engineer working with Cisco products it is necessary for me to have a serial port available to console into routers and switches and new notebooks no longer have a serial port as a standard feature so USB serial adapters are required. If you just have a cable then if the console port does not come up then you have to figure out if it is the notebook or the console port that is causing the issue. Having the LED breakout indicators makes this much easier. I highly recommend this product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Finally got my Ten Tec RX320D to work on my ...

By: Don  on 2016-02-18

Finally got my Ten Tec RX320D to work on my new laptop .... if yours doesn't work with newer versions of Windows then your Serial cable is out dated and needs to be upgraded .... this works very well
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Gary  on 2016-02-18

Worked as advertised no install problems
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Only complaint is that the threaded posts are not removable ...

By: rfab  on 2016-02-14

Only complaint is that the threaded posts are not removable by simply unscrewing them. I had to break them off to attach this directly to a device (the device also had threaded posts).
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Three Stars

By: Mark Bitterlich  on 2016-02-06

Came without instructions.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Micktarheel  on 2016-02-04

Very easy to use.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I love this device

By: Nexus Technologies LLC  on 2016-02-01

I love this device
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Jasymane  on 2016-01-31

Love it
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works Great.

By: Nick R  on 2016-01-29

Works great for many uses. Authentic FTDI based chipset, so it works without a fight on both OSX, Windows and Linux. We use it with many different switches and network gear.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product

By: C Miller  on 2016-01-28

Bought this one to replace a Prolific adapter that does not work well, used for several hours without issue
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Status LEDs are very useful

By: Prag  on 2016-01-27

The combination of the FTDI controller which is solid and ubiquitous (you likely already have the driver loaded) and the status LEDs for each signal line make this a great debugging tool. The blue power LED is a bit too bright (aren't they always) but it does make it easy to tell if the device is connected. The materials aren't fancy but feel solid and the cable is seems rugged enough. This one costs a bit more but if you think you might want to see what's going on with your serial comms then this one is worth it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works for Rockwell devices also

By: Jason S.  on 2016-01-25

We use this as an alternative to buying the Rockwell RS232 to usb adapter that costs $170. I personally have used it on a Micrologix and PLC 5.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great on windows 10

By: D. Webster  on 2016-01-20

Works great. Used on Windows 10. Just plugged it in and drivers auto installed. Great chip set. Used to install Cisco switches and firewalls.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Vu Hoang  on 2016-01-10

good
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Finally a Serial to USB adapter that works flawlessly with ...

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-01-04

Finally a Serial to USB adapter that works flawlessly with Windows 10. I was trying to use an old Gigaware adapter and even with drivers that would load in Windows 10, it would still crash my machine. This has been working flawlessly so far and I am confident it solved my issue.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy to troubleshoot a serial connection problem with this.

By: Jeff Orange County Ca.  on 2015-12-30

Works great, and its easy to tell which end has a problem when you cant connect.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
A Must have for PC techs

By: John Berry  on 2015-12-19

This is a must-have for all PC techs and field work for troubleshooting sensors and RS232 devices. This has the legtimate chipset with real drivers that aren't blocked by MS. I love the status lights (that have proved reversed wiring before for me) and the ease of installation. I've had others and this is the one I kept. Use it with Putty (a free form of Hyperterm) and you'll be happy with your terminal screen every time.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy setup

By: Jim O'Brien  on 2015-12-18

I bought these because today's computers normally do not come with a serial port any more. I built and programmed a time and attendance system for work, and these worked perfectly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy setup

By: Jim O'Brien  on 2015-12-18

I bought these because today's computers normally do not come with a serial port any more. I built and programmed a time and attendance system for work, and these worked perfectly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy setup

By: Jim O'Brien  on 2015-12-18

I bought these because today's computers normally do not come with a serial port any more. I built and programmed a time and attendance system for work, and these worked perfectly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy setup

By: Jim O'Brien  on 2015-12-18

I bought these because today's computers normally do not come with a serial port any more. I built and programmed a time and attendance system for work, and these worked perfectly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy setup

By: Jim O'Brien  on 2015-12-18

I bought these because today's computers normally do not come with a serial port any more. I built and programmed a time and attendance system for work, and these worked perfectly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy setup

By: Jim O'Brien  on 2015-12-18

I bought these because today's computers normally do not come with a serial port any more. I built and programmed a time and attendance system for work, and these worked perfectly.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Purchased this to attach the Singer Professional Sew-Ware v2 embroidery ...

By: Lee Rowan  on 2015-12-07

Purchased this to attach the Singer Professional Sew-Ware v2 embroidery card reader/writer to my Windows 7 computer. Although I was able to install it (using the device manager to search for the drivers on the CD), the embroidery software was not able to find its device. Therefore, I am returning the adapter and purchasing another brand that a reviewer says works with the PSW software and hardware.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
The cable length is great and it works very will with my MacBook Pro

By: Justin Dover  on 2015-12-02

The cable length is great and it works very will with my MacBook Pro. I used it mainly with the "Serial" app, which I found to be a great match for serial terminal work.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Perfect for techies

By: Stuck in NNJ  on 2015-11-28

works exactly as advertised and better than the most frequently purchased Serial to USB
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with windows 8

By: BK  on 2015-11-19

Needed this for a computer to radio interface. Works great with windows 8.1 and now windows 10...
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with windows 8

By: Monster Trophy Catfish  on 2015-11-19

Needed this for a computer to radio interface. Works great with windows 8.1 and now windows 10...
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Connected the Serial Adapter to computer and a Yaesu FT-897 ...

By: H. Von Oswalt  on 2015-11-17

Connected the Serial Adapter to computer and a Yaesu FT-897. Windows found the software. Once it was installed the radio control software took it from there. The LED indicators show the communications taking place.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Visual Datasets

By: Quaoptic  on 2015-11-16

This is about the BEST USB Serial Adaptor I've used so far. Working in the telecom industry we've had a number of these units over the years as most laptops no longer have a serial port on them. The biggest benefit is being able to see the datasets on the physical side. Visually identifying transmit and receive can save a tremendous amount of guess work on determining which direction to look when isolating problems. Is it the device, laptop or the adaptor? With visual indicators confirming the physical connections is priceless.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Dependable and handles null signals

By: Squirrel Sentiments  on 2015-11-09

We were having intermittent problems flashing some ECUs using cheaper cables. This cable solved our frustrations.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works well with a Pi.

By: Harmless Gryphon  on 2015-11-02

I purchased this to use as a test dongle for a Raspberry Pi. The Pi sees it with no issues, and I've used it several times.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Had trouble with other USB/Serial adapters. This one works ...

By: Erich Rienecker  on 2015-10-23

Had trouble with other USB/Serial adapters. This one works, AND I can see the TX/RX signal going up and down the line.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED!!!

By: R. Atkinson  on 2015-10-17

Worked perfectly with my steno machine to get me back on track doing real time!! Better than the adapter I had that was acting up, and costs less, too. :)
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very convenient for troubleshooting.

By: Merlin49  on 2015-10-05

Works nicely and it's great to have the logic indicators so you can see when data passes.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
gearmo usb rs 232 serial

By: agus sulistijono  on 2015-10-03

this usb serial works at windows 8 plug and play
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Pesuazo  on 2015-09-30

Works great....I have no complaints.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
1 work fine. Used on Win7 x64

By: Slash-2CPU  on 2015-09-26

This adapter works more reliably than some of the others I've tried that cost 5x more. Console access at 9600,8,n,1 and data transfer at 33600,8,y,1 work fine. Used on Win7 x64.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Ron  on 2015-09-24

haven't used much, but works well, and feels sturdy
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works

By: Mark E Baldwin  on 2015-09-22

works great on My W7 laptop
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works great, no issues with Windows 10

By: J. Ostafew  on 2015-09-18

Works great, no issues with Windows 10. I'm happy. One nit I will pick though is that the sticker with the LED indicator labels was installed in a somewhat misaligned position so if you're looking at the device form the wrong angle you could mistakenly believe that the wrong indicators are illuminated... I started peeling up the label to shift it back over to where it's supposed to be but the adhesive wouldn't have been good for a 2nd application so it's staying where it is.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Harold M. Ballard  on 2015-09-12

works just fine
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Tony Cross  on 2015-09-08

Excellent, worked exactly as expected and communicated with the device attached with no issues
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality cables.

By: Frederic  on 2015-09-01

One of the operating computers at our plant was having BSoD issues which I traced to the serial-to-USB cables' drivers. I replaced them with these and so far no more BSoD.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Electron  on 2015-08-21

It works great
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great the first time, unlike other adapters I've tried.

By: Typical Consumer  on 2015-08-19

Works great the first time, unlike other adapters I've tried. Installed very easily. The key is in the FTDI Chipset. I will never use an adapter with a Prolific chipset again nor would I recommend them. I use this to access Dell network switches using Putty and it works great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
great

By: Scott Courtney  on 2015-08-19

Works great right out of the box
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: PO  on 2015-08-18

FTDI chipset, works well with 64 bit windows.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great for supporting legacy RS232 devices from your USB port(s)

By: E. Robbins  on 2015-08-02

worked well connected to my No name clone PC running Windows 8.1
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I am a very happy camper. I had years of frustration with the ...

By: NWNJ  on 2015-07-31

I tried installing Windows 10 and my prior Prolific usb to serial adapter did not work with Windows 10. I actually often had trouble with it working in Windows 7 after each update too as the drivers were constantly prone to errors. Apparently the makers of those devices have abandoned them. As far as this GearMo USB RS-232 Serial Adapter goes, I can confirm that it is plug and play with Windows 10. I first installed it on Windows 7 prior to the upgrade (simply plugged the usb in and Windows found the proper drivers). I then went into device manager and changed the com port and baud rate in device manager to the proper com port and baud rate. I then did the Windows 10 upgrade. After the Windows 10 upgrade I just needed to go back into device manager and update the driver. Boom, works now perfectly. I can only assume that it would also be plug and play with Windows 10 if you simply plug it in and Windows will find the drivers. But anyway, I am using this now on Windows 10. I am a very happy camper. I had years of frustration with the Prolific usb driver and am so happy to be with GearMo FTDI chip technology. Thank you so much GearMo!!!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Ken from Oregon  on 2015-07-29

Love the LED to confirm it is getting power
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works for programming old two-way radios for Ham use.

By: Trevor Lanes  on 2015-07-22

This worked for programing old Motorola and Kenwood two-way radios using DosBox in Windows7-64bit. I had tried many other converters, PCI add in cards and built in serial ports to no avail.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Works fine..

By: Andre  on 2015-07-11

Works fine...But it has to have male pins! Carefully took it apart, removed the female pins. Even though it can't be mechanically screwed in, it holds pretty good. Used it on a PCR1000 radio. No problems with communication to radio.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Daddy Dave  on 2015-07-05

It works really well and is instantly recognized when I move it between computers. The driver is flawless.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Michael Thomas  on 2015-07-01

Great
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Tyrone  on 2015-06-30

Great product to use with AMX
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Skip the Winter  on 2015-06-27

Worked perfectly with my quadzilla diesel chip and my computer.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very good product met all my expectations

By: Alfonso D. Pena  on 2015-06-25

Very good product met all my expectations, good company to deal with will continue to order more products in the future from this company
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: D. Hoffman  on 2015-06-24

It worked with Windows8 when others didn't.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked as expected.

By: Gary Miles  on 2015-06-15

Worked as expected. Indicator lights are really helpful to know things are working. Easy to load driver from CD. I used it with Windows XP. One minor thing is the threaded fittings sticking out so it may not pull up tight directly to some panel connectors. I just used an adapter cable and it was fine.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
the cable worked fine. At least until July 2015 when it went ...

By: GAusten  on 2015-06-11

I purchased this cable adapter in Nov 2014 and started using it in Jan 2015. While it took a bit to get the drivers loaded onto my tablet, once I managed it, the cable worked fine. At least until July 2015 when it went completely dead. Fortunately, I had purchased another cable from a different vendor (Valley Enterprises USB to RS232 Serial DB9 Cable Adapter FTDI Chipset) so could continue working. We'll see if this cable will last more than a measly 6 months! As a side note. I had to download FTDI drivers from online to make these cables work with some of my equipment, but for other it worked fine with the supplied drivers. http://www.ftdichip.com/FTDrivers.htm
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Best drivers for multiples Windows versions

By: Burns  on 2015-06-10

Worked perfect right out of the box. We tried many other USB to RS232 adapters, but this was the only one to properly load all the drivers and work on Windows XP, Win 7, and Windows 8.1 machines.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Seattle Customer  on 2015-06-08

Arrived quickly. Solid product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Fantastic. Works great with Windows 8.

By: mitchee  on 2015-05-25

Fantastic. This works great with Windows 8.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
love it, using it with a rs-232 to rs-485 ...

By: Xero  on 2015-05-24

love it, using it with a rs-232 to rs-485 adapter, and that is actually working better than a dedicated usb->rs485 adapter I tried. Also love the lights on this thing, you can really see if something is happening or not, which, for my application, and coming from an adapter that didn't work at all for me, was a nice improvement to know it's actually doing something.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
But this adapter works great.

By: Steve  on 2015-05-14

Bought many others but couldn't get them to work with my Acer windows 8 comp. But this adapter works great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
A very good device!

By: Pete Sapello  on 2015-05-13

This device worked EXACTLY as expected. Drivers on the disk are complete and load correctly. A very good device!! Thank you!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: N. Manka  on 2015-05-13

Works great, perfect for diagnostics. Definitely worth the slightly higher cost.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Michael R. Behnke  on 2015-05-09

Worked fine for my application running in Windows 8.1.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I'm actually amazed this adapter worked

By: Dinsy  on 2015-05-07

I'm actually amazed this adapter worked. I've tried so many, mostly with Windows 7. But I took a gamble on this one to try it with Windows 8.1 and was not disappointed. I used this with some old devices, one homemade, and they all worked. Thank you GearMo for making something that actually works! Update: Tried this adapter with windows 10 and an ActiveHome CM11A X10 interface and all works well. The FTDI driver installed automatically for Windows 10.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very useful.

By: VideoWizard  on 2015-05-02

Great product. Works as advertised. Status LED's are a big help. I will probably buy another at this great price.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
FTDI worked where others would not.

By: C. Bollig  on 2015-04-25

The traffic lights are a nice touch since I work on some old flaky equipment that locks up when you are programming it. Tried two others before this one and yea the FTDI chip is the only major difference. This one has the FTDI and it worked where others would not. Blue plastic is medium grade and feels like it will break with rough use. I work in the field and it will be used roughly. Even though the plastic is not the most durable and feels like it will break I give it five stars because for the price it is not an issue to have a spare or two on hand.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: J. E. Carter  on 2015-04-09

Stays connected serially, when others I have tried dropped their connection
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just Works

By: Brian W.  on 2015-04-06

Things are great when they just work. WINDOWS 8 Compatible!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product! (Genuine FTDI)

By: Mariusz  on 2015-03-28

Highly reliable! I use it to communicate between Win7(64bit) PC and CNC machine (error-less communication is critical for me). I use different speeds and both software/hardware handshake - never had even one communication error! Great product! (Genuine FTDI)
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
A great USB to RS-232 interface that does what it should.

By: Flyguy  on 2015-03-24

Ordered this to interface my amateur radio to my computer. Initially I have tried to use other brands of interfaces to hook up the RS-232 interface on my radio to my computer and always seemed to have some glitches. Since most if not all computers have now decided to remove the serial interface from their systems, it has become more difficult to interface some of the radios that still rely on the RS-232 interface. This unit fills the bill. I plugged it in to my windows 7 system and it immediately started loading the necessary drivers. I was hooked up and communicating in just a few minutes. It also has handshake indicator lights in case a problem arises. All in all a first class unit that does the job quickly and effectively.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Angel L Bermudez  on 2015-03-21

Working good with Windows 8
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Movie Master  on 2015-03-13

Work Great!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Byron Scott  on 2015-03-09

Works great for interfacing USB to Serial on Agilent data logger. Requires setup for Baud, etc.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Much better than the last one I had

By: James C  on 2015-03-08

This serial/usb adapter came with a driver disc and has worked well right out of the package. I am using windows 7. I don't have to plug in and reboot for this adapter to be recognized. Just plug it in and go. The driver allows you to select the com port I want as well as many other settings. Much better than the last one I had. I would buy it again and recommend for anyone with serial data needs with only a usb port on a laptop or other computer to use. Finally, a serial adapter that really works!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Stephanie  on 2015-03-07

Works with Allen Bradley plcs, ez automation, abb drives, yaskawa motion controllers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Nick  on 2015-03-07

Works with Allen Bradley plcs, ez automation, abb drives, yaskawa motion controllers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great adapter with great durability.

By: Jeffrey B.  on 2015-03-02

Only USB-DB9 adapter that works with CASE/CNH ECU/MCU. Our company uses these on a daily basis in the shop and in the field, with zero issues. Would recommend to anyone.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: dean hughes  on 2015-03-02

worked great
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Better than others I have tried

By: TAP  on 2015-02-28

Works well. Better than others I have tried. Highly recommend.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Samuel Soto  on 2015-02-25

Excellent product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Dave Hartman  on 2015-02-23

Real FTDI chip and the status lights are very helpful
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Andrew Smith  on 2015-02-23

Great product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked with windows 8! I was able to operate ...

By: Charles BISHOP  on 2015-02-21

Worked with windows 8 ! I was able to operate my 15 year old telescope going from RJ11 to db 9 to USB to 5 or 6 generation newer OS. Thanks for making this .
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: levi  on 2015-02-20

Works perfect with win8. I use it in my car to datalog. Cant go wrong here!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Awesome

By: Orz  on 2015-02-14

FTDI based USB serial converter with a ton of diagnostic LEDs. What is there not too like?
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very good product.

By: Canuck-1948  on 2015-02-12

Works great with windows 8.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Finally, one that works!

By: Doug Jones  on 2015-01-19

This is a high-quality and highly functioning adapter. That being said, the included drivers were ridiculous (Win 98, Win CE, 2000, XP, and that's it... what, no Windows Bob?) but they worked with Windows 7 just fine anyhoo. After 3 failed attempts with other "reputable name" USB-to-RS232 adapters, I'm finally able to get my MicroLogix 1000 PLCs talking to my laptops. The key was to eliminate the Prolific brand chipset from the equation and bring on the high quality FTDI chipset this adapter sports. The serial line signal activity LEDs are a plus. I highly recommend this adapter!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
works great!

By: Patrick  on 2015-01-16

Product worked as indicated. drivers work with windows 7 and the install was smooth. I am an IT professional and use this item at least once a week. If it wears out from use at some point I will buy another one just like it!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Beautiful. The length of the USB cable makes it ...

By: Stephan T. Ahonen  on 2015-01-15

Shows up without a driver install under Windows 7 and Windows 98 SE under VMWare. Beautiful. The length of the USB cable makes it easy to plug straight into whatever machine you're hooking up to, but because it has the thumbscrew sockets on it, and whatever you're plugging into will as well, it's impossible to use without an extension cable. I opened mine up and removed the sockets. It's uglier now, but more useful for me.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Art T  on 2015-01-14

Great product!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Computer part that did what it advertised. I like it.

By: B. Snider  on 2015-01-08

I needed this to connect to a RS-232 connection on a Lennox L-Series RTU controller. My laptop doesn't have a 9-pin serial just USB and this worked flawlessly. No awkward driver installation. It was compatible with built in drivers in Windows 7 and I was off to the races in a matter of seconds.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great piece!

By: Chris D. Faulk  on 2015-01-03

This adapter has the suggested chip-set for converting. This piece has worked great from day-one with zero issues at all! I have recommended this piece to the company I work for and we are now purchasing them for all our technicians.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
works with win 8. 1, driver on disk ...

By: Bobert  on 2014-12-27

works with win 8.1, driver on disk worked first time no problems.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Philipp  on 2014-12-20

Works perfectly on my macbook with osx 10.9!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: ALLFLUK  on 2014-12-17

one of the few converters I got to work with my device!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: ALLFLUKSD  on 2014-12-17

one of the few converters I got to work with my device!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great buy

By: Puck Daddy  on 2014-12-14

Works great with windows 7. Owned for two years and have had zero issues with this device.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very reliable, genuine FTDI chipset, RS-232 converter.

By: Lorene  on 2014-12-13

I've used this RS-232 Serial converter for connecting to Cisco networking devices and various other networking equipment that utilizes a console port. This device was able to connect to all of them flawlessly. It was able to auto-detect the baud rate to apply for the connection and whether or not flow control was needed, which was reflected on the LEDs for each device connection. I also used this cable to xmodem a IOS file to an old Cisco Catalyst 2960 switch. This is a genuine FTDI chipset used in this device, http://hackaday.com/2014/10/22/watch-that-windows-update-ftdi-drivers-are-killing-fake-chips/ this link listed the drivers that affect fake FTDI chips. I updated my adapter to use the latest version that would "brick" the device and it is still detected and functions perfectly. I also made use of this adapter in linux using putty and cutecom and it detects perfectly as well, no need to modprobe usbserial vendor=0x???? product=0x???? it is plug and play.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good stuff

By: JJ  on 2014-12-09

Works as advertised. Lights are kinda cool
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
The Extra's

By: Jack of all Trades, Master of None  on 2014-12-01

I was a little skeptical at first, but after using it that quickly faded away. very easy to install and the extra LED lights to show the connection speed and lots of other things makes it well worth the price. I have several otherbrands of the same thing, are using to connect my telescope to my laptops. I've had problems with other versions this one was a dream. I highly recommended.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I've been running this thing continuasly for about a month ...

By: Azrael  on 2014-11-23

I've been running this thing continuasly for about a month interfacing my weather station to a computer and have had flawless operation. The Prolific version constantly crashed on Win7 home and pro. As a former IT Manager I thought that I could make the old one work, but the problem was the driver and no version I could find would fix it in Windows. I've used it with Linux, but this unit was the only thing I've found that works well with Windows.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works like a charm

By: Tim the tool man  on 2014-11-22

Works like a charm. Lets me connect my PC to industrial equipment which have only RS-232 9 pin ports. The female nuts installed on the connector require that you connect it to another cable, not directly to a D-sub port. LEDs could come in handy for troubleshooting communication problems. Windows 7 automatically installed drivers without need for the included disk.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This adapter works when many others fail. Well done!

By: B Miller  on 2014-11-22

This adapter works when many others fail. Well done!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Spend the extra few dollars and get this converter, you'll save yourself many hours.

By: paul rother  on 2014-11-20

I bought one of the cheaper USB/RS232 converters and had a lot of problems. It worked, but the drivers sucked up so much CPU, that the whole machine ran soooooo sloooow, thus rendering the application useless, as serial data was lost. With this guy (using the FTDI Chip) everything worked right off. I didn't need the LEDs, but i've been in plenty of RS232 situations where the LEDs would of been super useful. I'm on a mac using parallels, running XP for the application i'm using. Since i already had the FTDI driver installed, there was no setup, and this worked perfectly first time. I'll thru the other one i had in the circular file, what a waste of time that was.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Joshua Cardin  on 2014-11-16

Great interface convertor. No problems setting it up.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
but have found that they are quite useful -- if the lights are blinking

By: Brian  on 2014-11-12

This was totally plug and play on my windows 7 box. I've had a number of these types of things in the past, and there have always been driver issues, etc. I use these to access the serial consoles on various servers. I had been skeptical about the usefulness of the LED indicators, but have found that they are quite useful -- if the lights are blinking, then you have some data being sent, even if the baud or other settings are wrong. This helps troubleshoot if my lack of console is a cabling issue, or a configuration issue, etc.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
then this is an excellent choice. I have been using it to connect ...

By: Mark G Matlock  on 2014-11-01

If you are looking for a USB to RS-232 adapter with some extra diagnostic capabilities, then this is an excellent choice. I have been using it to connect my iMac to a PDP-11/83 and the LEDs on the RS-232 side have been very helpful. The USB side works perfectly with OSX or Ubuntu running under VMware on the iMac as well. Great Product!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
then this is an excellent choice. I have been using it to connect ...

By: Mark M.  on 2014-11-01

If you are looking for a USB to RS-232 adapter with some extra diagnostic capabilities, then this is an excellent choice. I have been using it to connect my iMac to a PDP-11/83 and the LEDs on the RS-232 side have been very helpful. The USB side works perfectly with OSX or Ubuntu running under VMware on the iMac as well. Great Product!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: w1knight  on 2014-10-29

it works
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: DAVE ROBBINS  on 2014-10-29

Ok!!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Its actually more troublesome sometimes to find terminal software to use this on some operating system since they do not include

By: John Secondino  on 2014-10-26

It just works perfectly with every serial device I throw at it. If you need a serial port to program a network device or an old server that is managed via serial port this is what you want. Hasn't failed me yet in about half a year. Its actually more troublesome sometimes to find terminal software to use this on some operating system since they do not include them in the operating system anymore fortunately in windows there are tons of free options out there inluding hypterterm which can still be downloaded if you need it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I support some old devices that still use RS-232 to talk to a PC and it is nice to see the status of ALL the lines

By: WangoTango  on 2014-10-19

I got it for all the LEDs on it. I support some old devices that still use RS-232 to talk to a PC and it is nice to see the status of ALL the lines. I love it, and I haven't had the unit lock up from minor ESD events like some other units I have used in the past.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
GEARMO USB RS-232 SERIAL ADAPTER

By: M. L. McKenzie  on 2014-10-18

Finally found one that works as advertised for D-Rats and RMS Express.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent converter.

By: Patrick McLeod  on 2014-10-14

Purchased the USB to RS232 to replace an older unit. Tested on Windows XP and Win-7. No issues with this product and the unit worked perfect.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great USB-RS232 Adapter!

By: S. Fitzgerald  on 2014-10-10

This is a sweet little USB-RS232 adapter. My old one caused my Windows 7 PC to BSOD at speeds over 38400, but this chipset does not. It also works on my Mac Book Pro. The LED indicators are WONDERFUL!!!! They make troubleshooting connections so much easier. Even programs such as CoolTerm, which show indications on the console window aren't as useful as the indications on the adapter itself. GearMo's website has all the latest drivers for Windows and Mac, which makes installation a breeze. If you're looking for a USB-RS232 adapter, look no further than this one.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
The FDTI chip set in this device seems better supported, it is nuts to use anything else

By: Robert Kondner  on 2014-10-10

I probably should give 5 stars but they have the LEDs on the wrong side. I have used a number of such adapters but these work flawlessly. I use a COM port driver in my code, ancient piece of code, and it functions 100% with this adapter. The FDTI chip set in this device seems better supported, it is nuts to use anything else. Bob K.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Julio B. Donastorg  on 2014-09-29

This thing is awsome, looks and feels robust so im not worried about it being broken on my backpack.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just works.

By: SEAN BALES  on 2014-09-28

These work great. If you work in IT and routinely plug into serial ports to manage network devices or other devices, this is a great tool. It's handy to see the status lights to know if the pin-out on the device is correct. The usb cable is also a nice length. I've personally tested this on Linux and Windows 7. Both required no manual installation.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: John Dorobish  on 2014-09-25

This adapter does work with Microsoft 8.1 and worked perfectly with the machine I had connected to the computer.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
great!

By: Austin Higgs  on 2014-09-12

PRO: no software install CON: none that I could think of
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Serial to USB adapter, perfect for my old Phillips TSU1000 and TSU2000 remote controls

By: Steve S.  on 2014-09-11

Works great for old serial port adapters for the Phillips TSU1000 and TSU2000 remotes. I have been using these remotes and programming and organizing buttons on the screen using prontoedit 4 since late 1999. Needless to say, it is hard to find adapters that make the serial port adapter work for these remotes. I came across GearMo and ordered one and not only did it work, it automatically installed without the mini CD. Because of the age of the remotes, you also need to set the port to com1 on windows 64 bit PCs to make it work. If you do this, it takes but a few minutes and you are up and running. I can finally retire my old windows 7 32 bit pc which was hanging around just to edit my remotes. I am ordering a second one now. I highly recommend this device for serial to USB applications.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Serial to USB adapter, perfect for my old Phillips TSU1000 and TSU2000 remote controls

By: Steve  on 2014-09-11

Works great for old serial port adapters for the Phillips TSU1000 and TSU2000 remotes. I have been using these remotes and programming and organizing buttons on the screen using prontoedit 4 since late 1999. Needless to say, it is hard to find adapters that make the serial port adapter work for these remotes. I came across GearMo and ordered one and not only did it work, it automatically installed without the mini CD. Because of the age of the remotes, you also need to set the port to com1 on windows 64 bit PCs to make it work. If you do this, it takes but a few minutes and you are up and running. I can finally retire my old windows 7 32 bit pc which was hanging around just to edit my remotes. I am ordering a second one now. I highly recommend this device for serial to USB applications.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked right of box

By: Dan Baldwin  on 2014-09-04

Works perfect for my application. Running windows 7 that found it right away. C++ also liked it. Worked to my advantage to see the rx and tx lights blinking. Great product , will probably buy more soon.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Two Stars

By: drifterlee  on 2014-08-21

Did not work for serial Wacom tablet.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent USB to serial cable - buy it !!!

By: gymratt  on 2014-08-16

I have to constantly access serial ports on enterprise computer equipment and the absence of serial ports on laptops was something I had to overcome. This cable not only solves my connectivity problem but also comes with a very handy traffic light to let me know if the ports are even working as soon as I plug the cable in. Gear-Mo updates their drivers so I advise anyone buying this cable to visit their website for the latest driver. As far as configuring it simply follow the documentation for your OS and you'll be on your way. I have used other USB to serial cables but if you need serial DB-9 connectivity buy this one, and you'll be glad you did.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
good look and functional

By: Kindle Customer  on 2014-08-12

arrived as promised and works perfectly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Bruce Roberts  on 2014-08-08

Great tool if you do a lot of RS232 work
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This adapter works on Windows 8 and 8.1!

By: A.C. Mendiones  on 2014-08-04

If you're still using serial devices and have moved to Windows 8, you need this adapter. If you had adapters based on the Prolific chipset, the available drivers for Windows 8 (as of 8/2014) don't work. This adapter uses the newer and better supported FTDI chipset. Their drivers work. This adapter works.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product

By: Siggi Bjarnason  on 2014-08-01

Only done limited test on this so far but it seems to be a rock solid product. I especially love all the LED's that tell me exactly what is going on at the RS232 layer. BTW the installation on my Win8 64 bit laptop was flawless and fast, didn't even need the included CD for drivers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This was a "Life Saver"

By: Robert S. Boisvert  on 2014-07-29

First Visual Observations: The USB to serial adapter was small but attractive in its construction with visible labels on the corresponding LED’s. The serial port enclosure was a translucent blue. Packaging: Received the package intact, no damage was found. Product Operation: The USBG-FTDI-LED was real simple to use, plug & play installed what I needed right away on my Windows laptop. I had used this serial adapter on older modem that operated through a serial port. Although going back to 56k was a pain the data transmission from the modem connection to the laptop was on the ball and the LED’s worked appropriately. This was a life saver despite the Internet connection time with 56k. Pros: The cable adapter is long enough that it stayed where I wanted it when getting the modem set up from the laptop. The LED’s were clear and easily distinguishable do to the darker label. It is portable, coiling up the cable is no big deal and doesn't take up mu room in the bag. Cons: No cons, this is a great little device. Final Comments: Having trouble with my onboard modem, this was a life saver when having to break out the old separate modem unit to cover my Internet. The USBG-FTDI-LED Serial Adapter was inexpensive which was even better. Special Note: This review has not been solicited by the seller of this item.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Gregg  on 2014-07-23

Worked great on my Windows 8.1
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
You only need the troubleshooting lights if you run into trouble

By: EngineerGuy  on 2014-07-16

Yes, this uses the FTDI chip and it works. A Prolific-based unit did not work in the same application. The pretty lights are fun to watch when in operation, but you probably won't need them. As an engineer, like to watch things work so the extra couple of bucks was worth it in case I had to do any troubleshooting. But then you need to have trouble in order to troubleshoot. I didn't have any. About as "plug and play" as you can get.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works very well

By: Larry Comden  on 2014-07-12

I wanted to use this in an amateur radio application. It performed flawlessly (I have had trouble with other similar devices because of RF energy).
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Not perfect, but pretty good...

By: PTW-105  on 2014-07-11

I broke this product review up into 5 pieces: design, build, functionality, misc, and summary. There's a TL;DR at the bottom for those who are interested. Design: I always prefer to have more information over less, so the status lights are good, but I would prefer that there were different colors. All indicator lights are all amber which kinda bleeds between indicator windows. It's really not that bad though, but I think different colors would help resolve the issue. The TX/RX lights are a tad dim on mine, unknown if this is a standard problem or if I got a few poorly made LED's in the mix. The blue glow from the RS-232 end is pleasant and a nice indicator to know that the board is receiving power from the USB connection. Build: Quality wise, this product is okay. The plastic exterior covering for the RS-232 side is a bit cheap feeling and I'm concerned that it may not hold up well in the relatively hostile environment that a data center or server room often is. The black area where the indicator lights are visible feels like it's just a clear plastic sheet, so someone who has huge burly thumbs and no sense of his/her own strength may accidentally punch that film inward. Functionality: I tested this device with a Cisco 1841 and 2811 and it worked flawlessly just as expected. The additional driver CD was not needed as my Windows 7 PC picked it right up and assigned it COM6, and away I could PuTTY. The TX/RX lights blink when sending commands and receiving feedback from the routers, so they seem to function as expected. As mentioned above, the only functional change that would have been nice is to have different color lights. Misc: Not really a product flaw, but the product description could use a tad bit of work though. It's not misleading, but it's a bit lacking. I had to go to the Questions/Answers section to find out the length, which is long enough for my uses. It also would have been nice to know the LED colors before purchasing. I like the cable material, the outer cable jacket is clear and is nice and flexible. Summary: Overall the product is great and I would recommend it to others who have a need for RS-232 connections, don't have serial ports on their modern computers, and are into things that both light up and blink.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
this is the one you want

By: Steve65  on 2014-07-11

Don't waste your money on anything with a prolific chipset - they don'tvwork with windows 7 or 8. This unit just plain works! As a net admin I need my serial port to work consistently and so far, this one has been flawless!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
GearMo Serial Adapter

By: fisherman  on 2014-07-01

Purchased this serial adapter for use with my Surface Pro2 to mainly use Putty application to configure Cisco gear. It works perfectly for that purpose, I also like that it has status lights and the cord is a good length and not short like some other brands that I have had in the past.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Does the job

By: Robert N. Trout  on 2014-06-07

Works perfectly AND with Windows 8 which many other adapters do not. One other adapter on the market will work also but it costs twice as much.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
so far so good

By: David C. Miller  on 2014-05-28

Bought it for a samsung laptop with Windows 7. Was able to configure with no issues to connect to Cisco devices. Likes to come up as COM3, but that is more an annoyance rather than a functional problem. Unit is not too bluky with the blue housing. Did have to load the drivers to get the unit to function correctly
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Good product. Worked out of the box with linux

By: kurtgo  on 2014-05-26

Spent the extra money for flashing lights, however the lights are upside down. All of the computers I have owned have serial ports that have the short side of the DB-9 connector down. When I plug it in, the lights are facing down, and useless. I should have bought the cheaper one, but this thing functions fine and is recognized automatically by Linux. Can't complain about functionality. Just look closely at the product photo, then pick any device with a serial port (like rasberry pi) and you will see what I mean. I would give it five stars if the lights were on the top.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works with Raspberry Pi

By: R. Brown  on 2014-05-18

I used this cable with a Raspberry Pi to connect with an 8-bit Atari SIO cable. I did not need the VPC drivers from the FTDI site. Works great!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
GearMo USB serial adapter

By: Ronny G  on 2014-05-15

Wow! What a great product with visible indicators AND a cable to the USB connector, allowing me to move it away from the laptop. Never any question whether the connection is good. It works very well with both Windows 7 and Windows 8 machines, and the price is outstanding!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Love this item

By: Lori Broadway  on 2014-05-06

This was the reason for my initial purchase, so I was very happy with this item, If I could have just purchased this item alone with free shipping, I would have been very please. Thanks, GearMo
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Most up to date unit I have found that works with old serial equipment.

By: VIPbeachBum  on 2014-05-01

Works flawlessly compared to the Belkin adapter I replaced it with. Works we'll on all my old serial port stuff I own.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great in Windows 8

By: Nick K.  on 2014-04-26

Works great, links up just fine with my radio scanner for programming. The PL-2303 adapter I tried previously didn't work at all.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Works on one computer, not another

By: Bryan J. Schaefer  on 2014-04-11

I have a few computers. My two main used computers, both Windows 8, have different experiences. My laptop registers this as a microsoft mouse. The other registers it correctly, but this is frustrating as I bought it to use mostly with the laptop. Looks like I'll have to get a different one. At least I have this for my main PC.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Saved the day

By: Amanda Feldgreber  on 2014-03-31

Works great without having to search the internet for drivers that only work every other time you turn the computer on and must be constantly reinstalled. I had to have one that works this great to run outdated hardware for work with out it I would be sunk.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked great with Windows 8.1

By: John La Costa  on 2014-03-29

Worked just great with the the Dell laptop running Windows 8.1. Would recommend to anyone who needs an adapter to RS-232
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked great with my LP-100A Wattmeter for Ham Radio. You will need a 9 pin straight through serial cable with this.

By: Amazon Customer  on 2014-03-22

Plug and Play! Most cheap ones do not work. This worked great with my LP-100A Wattmeter for Ham Radio. You will need a 9 pin straight through serial cable with this idem because it has the nuts on both the meeter and the adapter. Think of it as a internal card connection. It was fast delivery thanks!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great

By: escortwagon313  on 2014-03-08

No issues using this with a Win 7 64bit machine, it works great and gets the job done. The lights are nice to see that its actually doing something, especially if I need to do some troubleshooting with what its connected to.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Rock Solid Communication

By: Brett B  on 2014-01-24

I needed a serial cable to communicate to an Allen Bradley Micrologix PLC and my laptop does not have a RS-232 serial port. I read about some bad experiences people have had with other adapters. It seemed that the general consensus has been to stick with the FTDI chipset adapters. After looking through some products and reviews, I came across this item. In my opinion, the LED lights to indicate activity was good feature to have for any troubleshooting. My computer uses the 64-bit version of Windows 7. When I plugged the adapter in, the OS recognized it and downloaded the drivers via Windows update. It defaulted to COM7, so I changed it to COM1 and connected it to the PLC. I auto-configured a DF1 channel in RSLinx Classic and immediately discovered it using RSWho. I've had it connected to the PLC all day and there have been no issues in the communication. I checked the diagnostics for the channel and there were no bad packets, timeouts, or retries. This seems like a great product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
An FTDI based USB to Serial adapter with Status LEDs to show activity

By: Robert L. Doerr  on 2014-01-22

I have always had the best results when using USB to serial adapters that are based on the FTDI chipset. This particular adapter uses the FTDI chipset and also has status LED's to show the activity on the lines which can help troubleshoot serial issues. I would highly recommend this adapter.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
FTDI + Signal lights = Flawless victory

By: Myself  on 2014-01-08

After having struggled with corrupt data on my PL2303-based adapter every few minutes, I was suspecting problems with the target device, especially when the problem persisted after swapping adapters, reloading drivers, and trying a different PC. Lesson learned: Replacing a Prolific chip with another Prolific chip isn't gonna fix it! Go FTDI or go home. I bought (two of) these and the problems haven't come back; I can receive *megs* of text without so much as a hiccup. Logging over a long weekend used to be completely out of the question, now it's become routine. And yes, the diagnostic LEDs are every bit as useful as you'd imagine, perhaps more so. Not only do they show you TX/RX and flow control, but they show you *when the port is open at all*, which is super handy if you've got multiple adapters plugged in and you've lost track of which COM port is which. Forget the paperclip loopback! Forget unplugging things to see which port stops responding! Just watch each adapter go all Christmas-tree when you open its respective port, and the mystery is conclusively solved. My colleague has been using the other one to drive an old board plotter, which had exhibited inexplicable, random, and extremely frustrating bugs for months. Switching to a genuine FTDI adapter made everything suddenly work! The misbehavior is gone, the software doesn't lock up anymore, and we're back to making boards in-house instead of sending them out. Turns out the plotter wasn't bad after all, it was just a cheap serial adapter! I'm never skimping on cheap serial adapters again.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just works!

By: J. Meran  on 2013-11-30

Works great with Win 8.1 64 bit. Didn't use supplied driver disk. it just worked! My application is a simple "Dumb" terminal program running a piece of test equipment. The LED's are great and will really help if problems arise.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB to Serial Adapter.

By: Glenn  on 2013-11-26

Works as described and the lights are a plus for trouble shooting. Win 7 found and installed with no problems. I use it for TX Using Ham Radio Software.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Product, works perfectly with Windows 7 32Bit

By: Jetmech76  on 2013-11-09

I purchased this cable to interface with a DOS based system. I had another brand of cable that I could not get to work. When I received this cable I plugged it into my Windows 7 PC, Windows installed the drivers that I needed, and that was it... Completely plug and play..
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Does what it says

By: Sitesby  on 2013-10-30

I purchased this to connect to Cisco consoles. I have had no issues using the serial adapter with Windows 8 or MAC OSX.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Legacy Techonolgy

By: Gadget-Guy  on 2013-10-28

Laptops, Desktops, Tablets.... all would cheerfully like scrape off the RS-232 interface from their shoe. (along with the parallel interface, and the RGB video interface) It's an interface that - just - won't - die.... along with all the zombie hardware that is still - inconveniently, operational. On top of that, add 3 or 4 more versions of a psychotic OS's growing ever larger, slower, and less stable... One must ask one's self "Is one giant leap backward for mankind" really worth it? Still, if it's cheap enough, ?maybe? it's worth a shot. Not all USB-RS232 are created equal. They are OS type/version dependent. They can be quite particular in their handshake with any given piece of ancient equipment. On occasion, they will work. Don't expect much technical support from outer Mongolia when it doesn't. Just because it works on one device, it may not on others. Change host device, OS (or, even a service pak) - and, it's instant drawer clutter. Most will test operational with a RS-232 tester. (which may not mean much for your application).
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works, doesn't fall apart

By: Mwolf  on 2013-10-15

I needed this for connecting my laptop (which does not have a serial port) to a piece of lab equipment. My windows 7 machine did not need the included drivers (on a mini-disk), it just worked when I plugged it in. I am using LABView to communicate thru the USB adapter to control what the lab equipment settings are, or to communicate status/measurements from the equipment and this works beautifully. The LED's are a nice touch to verify that data is being sent back and forth, which helps when you are setting up for the first time and want to verify communications are working properly. I haven't beat this up, but it is being used in a work environment and so far this has held up nicely. It's not industrial strength, but it also doesn't feel like it's going to break into pieces if I drop it. I bought several for our lab.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Not the lights I was hoping for

By: Bonkers Bill  on 2013-10-13

With most RS-232 test jigs you see one color for positive, another for negative, and no light for no signal. The lights on this adapter are only on when the signal is "active" - you don't get any indication if the signal is driven from the other side. So it works, so I still need to carry an RS-232 tester with full lights when I want to diagnose a balky connection
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works well, a touch pricey

By: jhb204  on 2013-10-05

Works correctly and installs easily. If you don't need the lights, then go for a Sabrent unit. It uses the same FTDI chipset but $5 less. Do yourself a favor and stay away from the Prolific PL2303 adapters. I've yet to get one to work correctly with Wndows Vista, 7, or 8. -John B.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
works great with Linux

By: Werner Kuballa  on 2013-10-02

I had to use this adapter to connect a laptop (running Debian Wheezy) to a Dell EqualLogic. Worked without a problem.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Job Done Effectively

By: Jay P.  on 2013-09-23

Best in the market. Easy installation and drivers compatible to windows 7 and above. Better than Radio shack's comparable product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
LEDs

By: Jim Jewell  on 2013-09-05

works with Win8. this is for the professional that needs to talk RS 232. just about any USB/232 device will do. but to have the LEDs showing you whether you have communication, or not??? priceless.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product

By: April Bialick  on 2013-09-05

I had to manually install com drivers on win 8, but worked wonderfully after that. Also I missed that it has bolts and not screws and had to use original cord to make the connection.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB RS-232 Serial Adapter with LED Indicators

By: Thomas Foster  on 2013-08-31

I got them fast, well packaged. They work perfectly, first time / every time. I bought four more. Ditto for them as well
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Did what it was supposed to do

By: Nancy  on 2013-08-25

Recommened by manufacturer of amp and did what it was supposed to do. Nothing else was needed to make it. Work. Well constructed.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works with windows 7 64

By: Alberto A Ochoa  on 2013-08-24

Not a problem. Windows detected and installed its drivers. I'm very satisfied with this adaptor. Love the how easy serial communication can be tracked.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works with windows 7 64

By: Beto Ochoa  on 2013-08-24

Not a problem. Windows detected and installed its drivers. I'm very satisfied with this adaptor. Love the how easy serial communication can be tracked.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great

By: N. Bruce  on 2013-08-12

Bought it for my hubby so he can link his computer with the weather station. It works great even with Windows 8.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It seemed to work.

By: physics teacher  on 2013-08-10

It seemed to work. We had to first install the drive on our computer, and then it allowed the firmware update. Though we still have things to figure out.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product!

By: G.C.  on 2013-08-09

Indeed it works on all your tech gadgets. I've used it to program PLCs, AVRs, Configure Servo Drivers, etc. The blinking lights work great. It really helps to know if your device is responding to your serial commands. A+
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
nice product

By: William T. Rose  on 2013-06-30

Works as advertised it is nice to be able to see the DTR and RTS LEDs for trouble shooting serial port problems.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
worked with w8, no problem

By: JM  on 2013-06-29

worked with w8, no problem. recommended. The LED lights are a nice touch, to let you know things are happening.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy setup, works fine

By: Franklin E. Halasz  on 2013-06-27

The headline says it all. I paid a little more for this adapter to get the chipset with the best review, and it seems to have paid off.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Adapter

By: Aaron Possien  on 2013-05-30

I use it while programming where serial devices are used. The LEDs indicate all the states of data and transfer. The LEDs also let you know if your device is ready and when data is being transferred. For the price you can't beat it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great

By: wanher  on 2013-05-17

Working like a champ. Great if you want to use RS232 device communication. Used it with my laptop Windows 7 without any connection or device detection issues.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Doesn't crash my laptop

By: Frankie Majowich  on 2013-04-27

This usb to serial adapter is the only one I have used that doesn't blue screen my laptop. I would recommend this product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with Windows 8

By: Amazon Customer  on 2013-03-15

I ordered this adapter for two uses: First to use with my old X10 controller at home and second to connect to the console serial port on a piece of test equipment at work. For the X10 controller, I elected to the USB/Serial adapter on a Windows 8 PC. I created a "restore point" before inserting the mini CD that came with the adapter (just in case!). Then I plugged the adapter into a USB port and surprisingly there was no request to install a driver. So I looked at the Device manager and found that "USB Serial Converter" appeared without having to install the driver from the CD. I then ran the X10 control software and it found COM4 and worked right away. I haven't tried the test equipment at work yet, but I don't expect any problems. And the LEDs will be very useful for this. Very happy with the product and the price.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with Windows 8

By: DAShier  on 2013-03-15

I ordered this adapter for two uses: First to use with my old X10 controller at home and second to connect to the console serial port on a piece of test equipment at work. For the X10 controller, I elected to the USB/Serial adapter on a Windows 8 PC. I created a "restore point" before inserting the mini CD that came with the adapter (just in case!). Then I plugged the adapter into a USB port and surprisingly there was no request to install a driver. So I looked at the Device manager and found that "USB Serial Converter" appeared without having to install the driver from the CD. I then ran the X10 control software and it found COM4 and worked right away. I haven't tried the test equipment at work yet, but I don't expect any problems. And the LEDs will be very useful for this. Very happy with the product and the price.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with the Computrainer

By: Mark Newsome  on 2013-02-15

The old Belkin adapter I was using seemed to cause the dreaded BSOD on XP and didn't support Windows 7. This one works great on either OS. With this adapter I can use my Computrainer with a (late 2008) Macbook, running Windows 7 under Parallels. The blinking LEDs are a nice touch -- they let you know it's working!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
works well with Win7x64

By: skyskier  on 2013-01-16

Running it with an old school DOS program running in the 'D-Fend Reloaded' emulator and works well. LEDs are easy to use for confirmation of data signals.