1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

Gearmo USB Type C Power Delivery Tester with OLED Display (Black)

GM-TCPM-OLED
$21.99
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works well & peel off the film

By: Ian - Cull  on 2018-12-17

There is a film that does peal off with some effort, its very thin film. I'll attach a photo. So far the tester is working well. I didn't notice the film until I read one of the comments. I was not happy about the scratches but it was all on the film that peels off.Summary:At first seemed scratched, take the time to peel the thin film off.Less expensive than other brands.Works well for testing USB-C ports and cables.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
An extremely useful tool to have in your bag

By: Siddhartha Sen  on 2018-02-22

An extremely useful tool to have in your bag. The only nit that I can pick is that for devices which have the USB c on the right side , the reading faces away from you. But honestly if that is the only nit I have , I really shouldn't complain . Great tool and good build quality.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Effective and less expensive

By: D. Arthur  on 2018-01-12

Very effective meter. Unlike micro, mini and lightning cables, USB-C cables are bidirectional. When I plug my power pack to a power source it charges, when I plug it to my phone it discharges. This meter shows an arrow telling which direction the power is flowing. In addition to showing volts and amps it also shows total Mah since it came on - if you know your battery capacity that means you have some idea what percent charged or discharged it is, even if the device is off. I would not call this meter rugged, but it has not shown any signs of wear or breakage yet. Some reviews mentioned breaking it: I am guessing that comes of plugging and unplugging it without enough care. Mine is plugges into the power pack: the far end of the cable goes either to the wall or to the phone but the power pack end just stays connested, so I am not expecting any wear on the meter. Finally, I was surprised at how much more USB-C power meters cost than USB-A power meters. But this one cost less than most.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great USB-C Volt & Amp Meter with Power Delivery Spec!

By: Joey Riz  on 2017-11-15

This was a great tool I used while testing various USB-C devices to see if they were charging at the rates they should. This was super easy to use and the screen was nice and easy to read. It uses the power delivery specification so it will work when testing all of those devices. Highly recommended if you are using it any reviews!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Love the company and their products.

By: Jerry Hogsett  on 2017-09-29

This is a very nice device and at a really good price considering what it does. I was impressed that it can handle current flow in either direction. The display is nice and easy to read, and there's a nice visual effect when it updates (update sweeps up from the bottom). I'm really impressed with Gearmo.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Solidly Built USB-C Power Meter

By: TehZombie  on 2017-08-20

Packaging & Quality (5/5)The meter comes in a simple packet which might not exude high-quality but this is clearly a well-made product. The product is much small than I anticipated, it's about the size of the USB thumb drives which makes it portable. In length, the meter is almost as long as the pixel charger and a little longer than an iPhone charger. It is built solidly without any flex (tried bending it and yanking it from a port very fast) or gaps between the glass display and plastic body or around the connector ports.The male USB-C connector has a lip which helps while connecting it to my Pixel and also helps give enough space for other connectors when connecting to a laptop. Unlike what one of the reviewers said, the screen does have a film which can be removed. The film shows scratches after a while but I left the film intact as I didn't want to have fingerprints on it (even though that doesn't hinder the display). If I had to nitpick, I would have liked the meter to be less wobbly as it wobbles a little more than a cable does but it's not so loose that it would fall out of the port.Usage & Testing (4.5/5)While plugging-in, since this is a USB-C port, there is no issue of the display facing downwards while connecting to the port. The display might be upside down when you plug-in and cannot be rotated like some USB testers but it's not very hard to read the text upside down. The display is quite easy to read in all lighting conditions with its white display over black background. If I had to nitpick I would want the display font to be a little bigger, probably fill in the areas available.The meter doesn't turn mostly unless a device is connected i.e. only when current is flowing. One exception seems to be when it is connected to USB-A to USB-C cable where it does read the voltage as 5V but the current is 0 A and total stays at 0mAh. I like the fact that it not only displays voltage and current but also the direction of the flow along with the total power flow during the session which might help you keep track of how much your device got charged without turning it on.I tested this meter by connecting it to 18W Pixel charger, 45W PD USB-C charger, XPS 13, Google Pixel, both sides of Pixel OEM cable & another USB-C cable. It was able to measure the flow fairly accurately with a very quick refresh which seems to be in real-time. Since you can connect it to both sides of cables, you can measure the current flow on either side. It was even able to detect a 0.01-0.02V difference when connected on different sides of the cable.I couldn't hear any hissing sound from a normal distance unless you put it right next to your ear. If you do, you can hear a slight buzz and few beeps, which seem to be the sound whenever the flow gets updated on the screen.Overall (5/5)A well-built product for a great price especially compared to similar products available at higher price. Any issues/concerns I had were mostly nit-picky otherwise this USB-C Power Meter does it's just fairly well.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Working product. Second hand condition.

By: Todd P.  on 2017-07-13

The product works just fine as expected but it came in all scratched up. There is no film on the screen to protect it from scratches at all. Thats the one star that I took away.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Lower priced alternative to other type c power meters

By: compuguy  on 2017-07-06

Is basically the Satechi USB-C Power Meter Tester Multimeter for New Macbook, Macbook Pro, Test Speed of Chargers, Cables, External Battery Capacity, but in black (making it a bit more scratch resilient. My only concern is the connector may have similar issues as the Satechi branded one, where the type c connector becomes loose.