1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

USB to 3.3v TTL PIN Header Cable

GM-TTL3VT
$24.95
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
4.3 out of 5 stars
Great inghsit! That'

By: Melvina  on 2017-03-11

Great inghsit! That's the answer we've been looking for.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Smart thninkig - a c

By: Lilly  on 2017-03-11

Smart thninkig - a clever way of looking at it.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
You really found a w

By: Kailyn  on 2017-03-11

You really found a way to make this whole prscoes easier.
Product Rating:
4.3 out of 5 stars
Thanks for writing s

By: Elida  on 2017-03-11

Thanks for writing such an earytto-undess-and article on this topic.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Good to see real exp

By: Bayle  on 2017-03-11

Good to see real expertise on display. Your coitbnrution is most welcome.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Wait, I cannot fatho

By: Kevrell  on 2017-03-11

Wait, I cannot fathom it being so sthofgrtiarward.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
If only there were m

By: Marylouise  on 2017-03-11

If only there were more clveer people like you!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Well made

By: Jon  on 2017-02-16

Worked perfectly for running an update on an ESP8266 that I had. The wires don't seem to be so flimsy they will break in my bag and online documentation is good.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Useful...

By: Edwin Ng  on 2017-02-16

Meets my needs.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2017-02-02

Works good
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Windows 10 & Davis Vantage Pro 2. Works!

By: J. Payne  on 2017-01-18

Works perfectly in Windows 10. I attached the Vantage Pro2 and it communicates perfectly. Remember to connect TX to RX and RX to TX and short the CTS to RTS - Brown to Green. The command to wake the console up is \n. Baud rate 19200. Type TEST and enter and it should return TEST. LAMPS 1 - turns the console lamp on, LAMPS 0 - off (via Hyperterm).
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Cheaply made too, but worked for me to de-brick a router & install DD-WRT firmware to it

By: kanidrive  on 2016-12-09

After a slight modification, I was able to bring a bricked router back to life and install DD-WRT firmware to it. I give it 4 stars because there weren't very good instructions on where to find the drivers to use it properly, and it would have actually been a more useful item if it came with a pin header block and single wire jumper dongle. I've worked with TTL chips before and I've never used this cables TTL Header pin-out configuration before, so it seems to make more sense to just put single wire plastic jumper pin headers on each wire than putting it on this old school CD-ROM audio cable molding. But... there is probably some reason associated with mass production that I might not be aware of as to why that is. I ended up making my own out of an old CD-ROM audio connector in about 10 minutes though. It's pretty cheaply made too, but works ok. I wouldn't flex the joint where the cable meets the USB connector if you can avoid it.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Very useful for debugging a BeagleBone Black

By: mzimmers  on 2016-11-05

Don't get why the price is so high on these things, but it works. Very useful for debugging a BeagleBone Black.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: David Jones  on 2016-05-29

Works with Beaglebone Black.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: park jade yong  on 2016-05-02

Thanks
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Work great with Arduino Ethenet

By: Whistler  on 2016-04-30

This is what you need if you have an Arduino Ethenet.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This is a solid interface to the FT232R chipset for ...

By: Stephen McGill  on 2016-04-04

This is a solid interface to the FT232R chipset for bit bang mode. Tested on OS X with the native operating system driver as a virtual COM port and with the libftdi driver for bit bang mode.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Nice Cable

By: R. Volpe  on 2016-03-29

The cable I received appears to be of decent quality. I received a GearMo SS-TTL3VT from Serial Stuff. Others have mentioned that they've received cables with VCC measuring 5v and a dark colored encapsulating material around the USB plug. The VCC on the cable I received measures 3.3v, and the encapsulating material around the USB plug is as clear as a new born baby's phlegm. I didn't even connect the VCC to my target device though because the target device generates its own power (3.3v). I used the cable to unbrick a realtek media player on which I had corrupted the bootloader and all other available means of recovery were inoperative. It worked just fine, nothing to complain about. The FTDI cable is about the same price as this cable at every place I checked, but it is usually only sold through electronics jobbers - which makes ordering a hassle. So, net net this cable is a reasonable deal.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: John Jenkins  on 2016-03-29

Didn't work so I sent it back and was reimbursed quickly!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Jenks  on 2016-03-29

Didn't work so I sent it back and was reimbursed quickly!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
High Quality FTDI Cable

By: C.N.  on 2016-03-22

It worked well to update the firmware of a wireless temperature sensor by PrivateEyePi. I plugged it into the USB port of my Windows 7 box. I tried to plug it into my USB hub, it was not detected properly. When I plugged it into a port on the computer, it was detected properly. I loaded the drivers from the CD, and it allowed me to transfer data on a COM port. It would be nice if drivers were downloadable somewhere, because I won't have a CD ROM drive forever. But for now, it works great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Needed it after some bad router setting locked up my router

By: Insert name here.  on 2016-03-16

Needed it after some bad router setting locked up my router. This cable worked great to clear the nvram so I could get my router going again. I bought mine from serialstuff. It had a 3.3v vcc. Drivers installed automatically on windows 7. Def recommend.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This worked as intended. This actually helped me save ...

By: Justin W.  on 2016-03-07

This worked as intended. This actually helped me save my router from the soft-bricking I caused by not paying attention to instructions.... And now everything works! Would buy-in-an-emergency again! Pros: +Easy to re-wire to fit your specific needs Cons: - Couldn't find any!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Pretty Good; Does the Job

By: D. Chapman  on 2016-02-16

Minor issue: It needs to have pin 1 clearly marked. Also, a great big sticker "3.3 Volts DO NOT USE IN 5V SYSTEM" would be wise.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: rabil  on 2016-01-10

Used to access linux based N300 Netgear router and re-flash software.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with Minnowboard Max

By: Brian Delgado  on 2015-12-23

Works great on my Minnowboard Max!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product, dependable and plugs right in.

By: KC  on 2015-11-21

Really nice to have this well made 3V3 serial adapter. It works well and easily configures into a port and stays there. Love that it lights up to show that there are messages going across the wire.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Beagle bone Black must HAVE

By: YNot  on 2015-09-05

Absolute must have cable for connecting system output messages from your Beaglebone Black to Putty on your Windows desktop.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It Just Works!

By: what_I_think  on 2015-08-31

No fuss.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Was able to unbrick my R6300 V1 in seconds after having it laying around for months after a bad DDWRT flash

By: PSY0NIC  on 2015-04-26

Worked! Was able to unbrick my R6300 V1 in seconds after having it laying around for months after a bad DDWRT flash.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Was able to unbrick my R6300 V1 in seconds after having it laying around for months after a bad DDWRT flash

By: Ben  on 2015-04-26

Worked! Was able to unbrick my R6300 V1 in seconds after having it laying around for months after a bad DDWRT flash.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
It is what it is, works and ok price.

By: .  on 2015-04-20

It is what it is, price is right and it works.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Patience and detail. This can save your gear

By: Ryan A. Shuput  on 2015-03-31

Saved my netgear r7000 after i bricked it. A router that became more expensive after i had it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great for MinnowboardMAX

By: S. Lionel  on 2015-01-14

This worked perfectly with a MinnowboardMAX. Pay attention as to which pin is pin 1 (the one with the black wire, which is ground). I needed a FTDI driver for Windows (a web search for "FTDI drivers" will find them), and I used RealTerm (freeware on Windows) to view the output.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great.

By: Bob Pomeroy  on 2015-01-04

Works just like FTDI TTL-232R-3V3 and lower cost.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Glad I got it, it works for multiple boards

By: Jim Kane  on 2014-12-14

I was a little put off by the price when I ordered this, but it is a very universal serial connector and I've used it on Intel Galileo Gen 2, as well as BeagleBone Black. I don't believe this would work for a raspberry pi, for that you need the TTL cable with the separated headers. There is some added quality that is noticeable once you start to use it, there is an led in the usb plug that flashes with every keystroke - very cool.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great. USB plug lights up to show data transmit

By: Z  on 2014-12-01

Works great. USB plug lights up to show data transmit. Header comes off nicely for access to individual pins.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works great on Netgear WNR3500Lv2

By: Informed Buyer  on 2014-10-25

It works brilliantly with my Netgear WNR3500Lv2 which I bricked trying to flash. The pin out is as follows: Pin -> Name -> Type -> Colour -> Description 1 -> GND -> GND -> Black -> Device ground supply pin. 2 -> CTS# -> Input -> Brown -> Clear to Send -> Control input / Handshake signal. 3 -> VCC -> Output -> Red -> +5V output 4 -> TXD -> Output -> Orange -> Transmit Asynchronous Data output. 5 -> RXD -> Input -> Yellow -> Receive Asynchronous Data input. 6 -> RTS# -> Output -> Green -> Request To Send Control Output / Handshake signal. You can get more details here: http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Documents/DataSheets/Cables/DS_TTL-232R_CABLES.pdf I used the following guide to help me unbrick my router: http://www.myopenrouter.com/article/36609/How-to-Debrick-Your-WNR3500Lv2-Using-Windows-and-a-USB-TTL-Cable/ To remove the pins, use a tiny screw driver and lift the small plastic tabs (hard to see, but those are individual tabs on each pin) and slide out the pins. I'm using Toastman TomatoUSB firmware for my router, make sure you only use .chk firmware and not .trx (which will brick it again :) BTW mine came with a clear plastic head just as show in the picture. And the QUALITY is awesome! real good stuff and sturdy. Pricey at 18 bucks but the quality shows. I used Windows 8.1 with a DELL E6430 laptop with USB 3.0 ports and the Windows detected the cable and installed the drivers by itself. I used PUTTY and the cable worked perfectly on the first try. I'm giving it 4 stars because it's expensive and really could have been half the price and yet get the job done and made good profits.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Slaveā„¢  on 2014-09-10

Works with my Linksys WRT610N.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Fat Slav  on 2014-09-10

Works with my Linksys WRT610N.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Oscar Rivera  on 2014-08-21

Good cable, works as described, plugged into a serial port using Linux and it worked right out the box.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works as advertised

By: speedy240  on 2014-06-26

Used it to fix a Netgear R6300 wireless router. It was a convoluted process, the instructions to reload the firmware on the reference website were confusing at one point (pin connection) but it worked as advertised once I figured out the wiring issue.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
work perfectly

By: George  on 2014-06-02

i bought this one for 3 times for my work need. everytime it works like the way i am expecting.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works like a charm.

By: P  on 2014-05-30

Though, the price is quite too high comparing to those 5v ttl, but I have looked around so many sites and this one was the cheapest and the most suitable for my dev boards.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works like a charm.

By: Nakarin  on 2014-05-30

Though, the price is quite too high comparing to those 5v ttl, but I have looked around so many sites and this one was the cheapest and the most suitable for my dev boards.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Was worried about the strange brand but it is all good

By: Amazon Customer  on 2014-05-23

This interfaces to my 3.3 Volt system with no issue. The pin out was not immediately available with it but I got it from the other reviews or from the manufacturer website.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
3.3v VCC pin!

By: Kevin Wightman  on 2014-04-23

The review that stated it put out 5V on VCC made me a little bit nervous. I decided to take the chance, and am happy to report that VCC on my cable puts out 3.32V. The standard FTDI driver works just fine, and it follows the standard FTDI 3v3 cable pinout/wire colorings. If you're buying this cable, you're probably a bit of a hacker. The fact that it doesn't come with a paper manual shouldn't bother you much.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Lack of Documentation

By: Steve Johnson  on 2014-02-18

I would imagine that the cable would come with the wiring chart of the pin-outs but noting came and I was forced to do research on the Internet to get the information. After viewing the pin-outs, it all worked fine. This could be the problem with the supplier or manufacturer for lack of documentation.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good Value, Works Well

By: Bruce D Lightner  on 2013-12-13

This device has an identical pin-out as FDDI's TTL-232R-3V3 USB cable... [...] The 6-pin single-inline 0.1" pitch connector is constructed as follows: pin 1: black GND pin 2: brown CTS (input to USB) pin 3: red VCC (+3.3V power from USB, 75 mA max.) pin 4: orange TX (output from USB) pin 5: yellow RX (input to USB) pin 6: green RTS (output from USB) What I was shipped does not have a clear over-mold as shown on the Amazon Website. The plastic molding on my USB connector is quite dark---almost black. Nevertheless the green TX LED and the red RX LED are quite visible. I bought three of these to use under MS Windows 7 and Linux. I'm going to buy more. For example. this device is useful for monitoring the console serial port on a Beglebone Black and/or Raspberry Pi. The latter requires an "adapter" cable. The price of this device is better than the equivalent cable from FDDI and the function/quality is identical. In fact, because the cable diameter is not as thick, I like it better than FTDI's. Bruce D. Lightner La Jolla,CA
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good Fit

By: MaeFourth  on 2013-12-09

Good snug fit on pins and the usb header. This cable has been working and holding up well for me.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Unit, Great Price. Suitable for professional engineering/lab work.

By: reviewer1234  on 2013-11-23

I'm an electrical engineer and have used this for multiple projects to interface with 3.3V microcontrollers (Texas Instruments MSP430) directly to a USB port on my machine. Works great with RealTerm.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works, solidly constructed.

By: Jason Evans  on 2013-11-11

The cable works well. My only complaint is that I had to search the web to find documentation on which end of the 6-wire connector is pin 1; a small sheet of paper with minimal documentation would have saved that trouble.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
You can't go wrong with FTDI

By: Waterman  on 2013-11-07

As always, FTDI products work superbly compared to those that are Prolific based. Drivers are included, but already on Win7 machines
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as expected

By: That Guy  on 2013-09-19

I plugged in in on Ubuntu 13.04 then fired up minicom and everything just worked. That's all I can say. For those wondering, this works fine with a BeagleBone Black.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
product works well...once you figure out how to get documentation

By: alan cordeiro  on 2013-08-04

When I first recevied it, it was not clear where to get the documentation, but once I found it, the porduct works well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB to 3.3v TTL Header like FTDI TTL-232R-3V3

By: G. Bakanidze  on 2013-07-17

I've bought it for debricking my Linksys E2000 router. Not yet tested, but I have to say, the quality is very good. Also delivered in time. Good device. A must-have device for bricked device recovery with on-board TTL port.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked perfectly for various 3.3V TTL devices.

By: Admiral Joey  on 2013-07-11

This worked for various devices, including ones with only TX, RX, GND, and VCC headers. If RTS and CTS aren't present on your device's TTL header, simply don't connect them. Also recommend not bothering to connect VCC. Included a CD with product data sheets, which can also be found on the web. Wiring is: black GND brown CTS red VCC (3.3V) orange TX yellow RX green RTS
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good cable

By: James  on 2013-07-10

I am using this interface for debug purposes on a project that I'm working on. Plug and play, no issues. The schematic is provided on the driver CD that accompanies the cable (purchased from SerialStuff). I like the clear casing on the USB side that shows the chip.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Nice cable, works on my JP1.x remote

By: P. Clarke  on 2013-03-24

I got this cable because of it's RTS and CTS pins as well as being equipped with an FTDI chip and I definitely got what was in the description. Tested out on my JP1.x remote that needs the RTS line in addition to the usual TTL line - hence why I chose this cable over a cheaper 4-pin - and it works flawlessly. Build quality on first impression is good and looks to be on par with other well made cables but ultimately time will tell. As far as all the comments about no pin out information included with the cable, I can only assume the issue has been rectified as the PDF on the included driver/manual disk has a slew of information including the very valuable pin outs that happen to be exactly the same (color and pin location) as the genuine FTDI brand cable.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Perfect for unbricking routers

By: ToddPh  on 2013-01-08

I bought this on recommendation from the DD-WRT and Tomato forums after I managed to brick my new Netgear router. This cable was recognized by my Windows 8 laptop (if it doesn't work on one USB port, try another one on the computer; mine didn't work on the USB 3.0 port, but worked perfectly on the USB 2.0 port).
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good item, pin out info missing from cd-rom

By: packrat0x  on 2012-09-04

Item is well built and performed exactly as I needed. The included CD-ROM contains drivers and documentation. Pin out information is listed in the index of the .pdf file, but the pages are missing.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Nice cable. No pinout information supplied.

By: jt  on 2011-09-19

I've updated my rating on this item due to more information received by another reviewer. 4 stars now. Cable is fine and documentation is findable if you know where to look. Pinout: [...] Driver: [...] Documentation supplied with the cable does not give you this information. =========== I was looking forward to using this cable, but there is absolutely no pin out information in the supplied documentation. The cable came with a mini-CD that had a User's Manual. The User's Manual has sections defined in the Table of Contents titled "Specifications" and "Pinouts," but alas, there is no information in the body of the document associated with either of these two sections.