1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

USB to Serial UART 5V TTL Header Cable

GM-TTL5VT
$29.95
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just plugged it into my Windows 10 machine and it worked!

By: Kilroy07  on 2016-11-06

Finally, something that JUST WORKS.There are times to tinker around and times when you just need something to work. Glad I payed a little extra for a really quality product! Now I can get back to messing around with my Arduino pro minis.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
too costly for $19, does not work on windows 10

By: Gadget  on 2016-09-27

Bought is specifically because it had advertised that it works on windows 10, not true, driver is not signed and there is no way it could be used on windows 10 with latest updates, too costly for $19 as there are sellers selling it for less than half of it
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Note that the output is TTL, not RS232

By: da_amazon6  on 2016-08-08

Note that the FT232 chip used in this does not have a charge pump necessary to generate -6/+6V used by RS-232. This is a "TTL" output: Vlow=0V and Vhi=5V. It will NOT work for applications requiring RS-232.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Robert King  on 2016-07-25

Perfect; operates as intended. Seems well made for a bargain price.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Has genuine FTDI part.

By: Gary Washer  on 2016-03-14

This has the genuine FTDI chip and has no problem with the current FTDI drivers, unlike some cheaper cloned parts.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as expected!!

By: Frank Singleton  on 2015-08-19

Works as expected, Great for communicating with 2nd UART on atmega projects.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked great.

By: hozwe  on 2015-06-08

Needed it for my intel Galileo Gen 2 board. Worked great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
works with minimOSD

By: Chase Grigsby  on 2015-04-14

Works perfectly to program the minimOSD
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Dave Hartman  on 2015-02-23

works great for my arduino mini
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Must have for the FPV Enthusiast

By: Jeff  on 2015-02-11

This is a must have when you are setting up Minum OSD for your RC vehicles. Used it for my quad copter and loads perfect every time. Zero defects...
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Valid FTDI Chipset :)

By: Quasimoto  on 2015-02-03

Have a valid FTDI chipset and will work fine with FTDI device drivers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I am free from my old parallel port at last, and it works with Windows 10

By: John Bloch  on 2014-11-02

A Visual C++ bit bang example: #include "stdafx.h" #include "ftd2xx.h" #include #define LED1 0x08 /* CTS (brown wire on FTDI cable) */ #define LED2 0x01 /* TX (orange) */ #define LED3 0x02 /* RX (yellow) */ #define LED4 0x14 /* RTS (green on FTDI) + DTR (on SparkFun breakout) */ #define PIN_TX 0x01 /* Orange wire on FTDI cable */ #define PIX_RX 0x02 /* Yellow */ #define PIN_RTS 0x04 /* Green */ #define PIN_CTS 0x08 /* Brown */ #define PIN_DTR 0x10 #define PIN_DSR 0x20 #define PIN_DCD 0x40 #define PIN_RI 0x80 // ************************************************************** int main(int argc, char* argv[]) // 2 second bird squirter { FT_HANDLE handle; DWORD bytes; // Initialize, open device, set bitbang mode w/5 outputs if (FT_Open(0, &handle) != FT_OK) { puts("Can't open device"); return 1; } FT_SetBitMode(handle, LED1 | LED2 | LED3 | LED4, 1); FT_SetBaudRate(handle, 9600); // Actually 9600 * 16 unsigned char c = LED1 | LED2 | LED3 | LED4; FT_Write(handle, &c, 1, &bytes); Sleep(2000); c = 0; FT_Write(handle, &c, 1, &bytes); FT_Close(handle); return 0; }
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Elegant solution.

By: Yuriy Umanskiy  on 2014-10-25

I love this cable. Looks like any regular USB cable, with FTDI breakout at the end. It is small, portable, and electronics are protected inside the plug. Never had read/write errors with it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
FTDI rocks

By: Piccolo Grande  on 2014-08-30

You can't go wrong with FTDI chip. They work reliably on all the platforms (Mac, Win, & Linux). Construction is ok... If you have any doubts about whether to get an FTDI-based serial adapter or a Prolific one (since I see a lot of Prolific-based products, especially on the Asian markets), don't waste money with Prolific: the drivers are horrible and don't work well on latest version of the OS. Get an adapter with FTDI chip.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Ron Smith  on 2014-08-22

Works well just like advertised
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
I need this cable to configure 2 XBee Wire Series ...

By: Lawrence  on 2014-07-05

I need this cable to configure 2 XBee Wire Series 1's. Haven't had a lot of time playing around with it but personally, I think the price for the cable is a little pricey to me! Have to get one since I need it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works perfect

By: A. Reilly  on 2014-01-17

Needed a USB cable of this type for my old Rover's fuel injection computer. Like the fact that it has the lights to show you status built right into the plug.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Nice product

By: J. Fred Riley  on 2013-07-08

Some may find that they need an older driver to get this to work with, for instance, HRS software. But the device is well made and does--and is--exactly as described. Quick delivery as well. W8OY
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Beware of GEARMO... sent me defective product...

By: Gannon McCloud  on 2013-07-07

I have ordered two of these, and both have come from the seller GEARMO. The first cable works as expected... however I needed a second cable so that I can debug multiple micro controller devices communicating at the same time. The second cable that I ordered recently (several weeks after the original) does not work at all, it has a problem or issue of some kind - and currently I am dissatisfied with this order from GEARMO and the problem I am having with the cable they sent me. Sometimes after plugging in the cable it lights up with a solid red light, sometimes it does not light up at all, but it's never recognized as a USB device and never shows up on the system as a USB device as is the case with the original cable I purchased (which still works). I know this second cable that GEARMO shipped me is defective as the first cable I already have works fine and these are supposed to be identical cables, and appear to be identical but the second one does not work - both came from the seller GEARMO. I have filed for a replacement/return request because of a defective product via Amazon as I am a prime member, and as received this cable via a prime order, and I am awaiting to hear form GEARMO customer service, and will updated my review with their response and and indication of the type of customer service I received - either good, or bad, but I wanted other customers to be aware. I will update this review (and my star rating) about this product from the seller GEARMO after they have had a few days to respond to the problem I am having with the cable they shipped me on this order. Updated: I did eventually receive a refund, so have changed the 1 star back to 3 star just because of the hassle. The first cable I received that did work, is still working and I'm satisfied with it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent implementation of the FTDI USB-to-serial chip

By: Colin  on 2013-02-24

This cable uses the very well-designed FTDI serial converter chip, and has worked flawlessly for me. I've used it with nonstandard baud rates and I've also had success modifying the firmware with FTDI's own .NET-based tool (for Windows) as well as the open-source ft232r_prog utility (under Linux). This cable has an advantage over the factory/OEM cable in that it features Tx/Rx LEDs visible through the clear moulding on the USB end. If you're considering this cable to use it with the Lucas 14CUX, I can say that it works very well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good for the lab

By: Dan M. Beadle  on 2012-12-18

I build a lot of electronic projects that often need some kind of debug port. I design in RS232 level shifters to take up space and time. Then I have to find a USB to RS232 converter anyway to get the signal to the PC Using this, I just put a header on the board an save space and design time Not for general consumer, but good for hobbyist and engineers.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good Cable

By: NotSoSimple  on 2012-12-13

I was unsure of the quality due to the lower price than some other vendors. I purchased this to use it with some XBee units for a TweetAWatt project. I have used it over a dozen times without issue. It does come with a driver CD that is a micro-CD which was odd. Drivers working without issue.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Flawless

By: David M  on 2012-05-31

I purchased this for my Arduino Pro 5v and it worked perfectly. The LED was a really nice touch to help note when it was done uploading.