1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

USB 3.0 / 2.0 to IDE/SATA adapter with Write-Protection

SS-127ASD
$89.99
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
great for training and starting out

By: Don  on 2019-11-04

Great for peeps starting out in cyber forensics.. if you're training and looking for something to use in your personal lab, look no more. this is what I used in my lab to start out. definitely cheaper than tableau..
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good value and it worked

By: Ben Pasco  on 2019-09-23

I have bought, tested and used numerous write block devices over the past 20+ years and this is by far the best value for money unit. It's simple, basic and works.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Very cost effective

By: Jimmie D Walker  on 2019-08-24

Good value for the money. Did the job.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
10/10 would buy again (if needed)

By: Anderson Bezerra Ribeiro  on 2019-08-07

Excellent quality and low price. Write speed may not be the same as the more expensive options, but it's good enough.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Coolgear USB 3.0

By: Jacek  on 2019-05-07

ok
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Write Blocker function is good working.

By: Mehmed KARAHANLI  on 2019-02-06

Write Blocker function is good working.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Tool!

By: Prof. Torach  on 2019-02-03

This is the second time I purchased a Coolgear. The first one I bought a few years ago. It has worked well all this time. When my first Coolgear was misplaced, I ordered another almost immediately. It is a tool I use with some frequency and is something I depend upon. I recommend the product and seller.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just as good as a Tableau for a lot less money

By: AbacusUser  on 2018-08-27

This is surprisingly good. I have been using it for a couple months now and comparing images taken with my Tableau. I can't see any difference except the price.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Nice but didn’t work for my IDE drive. Hoping it will work for a Sata.

By: cldsk  on 2018-08-01

I bought this to read an old IDE drive. It seems to be of good quality, but sadly, I couldn’t get it to work with my IDE drive. I am not sure if it is the device or the drive which is why I didn’t return it and rated it in the middle. Hopefully if I have a need to read a Sata drive it will work.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Nice but didn’t work for my IDE drive. Hoping it will work for a Sata.

By: cldsk  on 2018-08-01

I bought this to read an old IDE drive. It seems to be of good quality, but sadly, I couldn’t get it to work with my IDE drive. I am not sure if it is the device or the drive which is why I didn’t return it and rated it in the middle. Hopefully if I have a need to read a Sata drive it will work.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Been looking for something like this for quit a while

By: Frank Amore  on 2018-04-23

worked as desired / expected. Been looking for something like this for quit a while. Can save one from accidentally copying wrong drive over the master as I have done before. All drives should have a write protect setting, but this will help a lot.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
This is an OK adapter. It works well for ...

By: Blackbomb  on 2018-04-03

This is an OK adapter. It works well for 2.5" drive, BUT it does NOT power up a 3.5" drive. Haven't tested the IDE because I don't have any to test with. 3 stars just for 2.5" drive compatibility and write blocker.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Kindle Customer  on 2017-05-30

Received as promised
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Three Stars

By: Cliente de Amazon  on 2016-05-30

Poor quality finishes
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
effective and functional; WAY cheaper than the alternatives

By: M. Harvey  on 2015-12-22

It works just fine and provides fast read/write speeds. May or may not be appropriate for heavy-duty, serious forensics work, but it DOES provide read-only access to a drive and is WAY cheaper than the alternatives.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2015-12-15

Excelent Product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2015-11-02

a good product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Nice adaptor

By: Mr Rene Heine  on 2015-10-04

Used as a USB to pc interface and works very well as such. I have not tested it for READ ONLY capability as I dont have the need at this time.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works excellent for forensic work as a write blocker

By: Skippy  on 2015-10-03

Works excellent for forensic work as a write blocker. Also works well for adapting drives for USB3. Speeds are more than acceptable. I wish they could incorporate a USB Write Blocker port as well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
AC power not required for 2.5" drives

By: sansai  on 2015-09-03

Very handy and inexpensive little write blocker. One nice bonus is that, unlike another write blocker I own, it does not require any external power for 2.5" IDE and SATA drives. Highly recommended for field technicians.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Tim W.  on 2015-07-11

Great!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
IDE/SATA Adapter

By: Lifespan1  on 2015-06-04

Works as advertised
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear

By: Karen  on 2015-03-31

This works great. Supports large over 3Tb drives.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear

By: Karl  on 2015-03-31

This works great. Supports large over 3Tb drives.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Sebastian  on 2015-02-12

working good im satisfaid.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent value for the price

By: Ron Davidson  on 2015-02-10

Well thought out design. Does exactly what it is supposed to seamlessly. USB 3.0 makes for speedy transfers. Excellent value for the price.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Three Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2015-02-03

Its ok, but i expect true sata III speed. As for now i can only get speeds about 100-150mb/s
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Agus A Dahlan  on 2015-02-01

Great
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Slow

By: Sheryl L. Katz  on 2015-01-03

I am a partner in a computer forensics business and I do a fair number of forensic acquisitions. We own several Tableau write blockers. They Tableaus are pretty much the industry standard. I did buy and test one Wiebe Tech write blocker with a SATA connector and it was very slow compared to the Tableau. I also purchased a Wiebe Tech USB 2.0 write blocker and it did not work on most USB disks. I keep one Tableau at home in case I get a call to to an acquisition at odd hours. This Cool Gear was appealing as a backup device; the price is certainly low. After using it and testing it a while I think it is just OK. It does work as a write blocker, but I seem to get USB 2.0 speeds with it even though it is a USB 3.0 device. It's usable for throwing on my computer and taking a look at a disk that I don't want anything to be written to, but it is too slow to use in most disk acquisitions.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: John A  on 2015-01-01

Works great, write block feature is nice
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great, especially for the price

By: Kevin Hobbs  on 2014-12-31

Works great, especially for the price. Some issues with getting some drives to read, but hard to tell if its the writeblocker or the drive.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good adapter, decent speed, features, seems well made

By: Jtech  on 2014-12-12

So far i'm liking it. For USB3.0 it's not all that fast, but i have OEM external 3.0 drives that are only like 10 meg faster than this so it's not that bad. Pros: Write protect, fairly fast, seems rather well made compared to some I've worked with. Case is thick plastic, all the connections are well secured, and don't wiggle. I like the IDE cable feature some similar devices i had before didn't have this, or used some custom extender cable. Cable that came with it was good, but was a bit short for my preference, so i grabbed a longer cable with two plugs and used that. Con: Not really a big deal, but is nice sometimes, none of the HDD even IDE laptop will run of USB power. I liked this because sometimes used my old cable like a cheap thumb drive with an old laptop HDD. The USB 3.0 cable is also kind of short, it's about 3tf which i thought wouldn't be big deal, but it's actually pretty short for a USB cable. Really should make the cord like 6Ft or so. Always buy aftermarket cable too, but i'd like to see better cable provided at some point. Also find odd how the short IDE cable was made the cable came out from the connector towards the center of the device, it would be better it looped back towards the edge (always use and old IDE cable from PC too works just fine). I kind of wish the power adapter used a normal IEC cord since that's something many people would likely have in a computer toolbox, or a work site.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great For The Price

By: Scott S.  on 2014-11-19

Can't beat it for the price. Using two, I was easily able to clone a working Linux drive from a Tyco PFE controller without fear of corrupting the working drive. Saved us $8500 in controller replacement costs. I don't see any reason to pay $$ for any of the others on the market as they have nothing to offer over the CoolGear.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great forensics write-blocker

By: Dr. Larry Leibrock  on 2014-11-03

Great forensics write blocker - excellent price
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
It works... but it doesn't supply enough ...

By: CackCrusher  on 2014-11-02

It works...but it doesn't supply enough power for the older SATA HDD I attempted to use it on.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Write-Block tested in Windows 7 and Ubuntu Linux

By: Amazon Customer  on 2014-09-13

I purchased this device to test the Write-Protect capability. I tested it using both Paladin Forensics, a variant of Ubuntu, and Windows 7. The drive tested was an OCZ I began with establishing my MD5 and SHA1 hashes of the entire drive. I then tested an attempted full forensic wipe (zero) of the drive, normal format, file write, and file edit. The drive blocked all attempts with either errors or notifications that the drive is write protected. At the end of the testing, the MD5 and SHA1 hashes remained the same. The only caveat to this device is that the manual states that the write protect switches must be toggled before powering on the device. So you must triple-check that the toggle-switches are enabled properly before turning it on and plugging it into the host. I am giving it five stars on the price basis alone. This device competes with the CRU/WiebeTech Forensic ComboDock V5 ($299.99) and the Tableau T35u Bridge ($349.99). I have not tested this device for speed capabilities, nor have I tested on Macs.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Works "ok"

By: Perfect Computing  on 2014-04-02

I really liked the price. I already had a Wibetech ultradock 4.0 and when I compared the speed of the CoolGear with the Wiebetech (running under Kali Distro) the CoolGear was about half as fast as the Ultradock. I tried multiple configurations and just couldn't get it to go any faster. I think this would be an ok product, just not as speedy as other products.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked perfectly!

By: D. W.  on 2014-02-04

I was extremely skeptical given how inexpensive this was (compared to other devices with write-blocking capability) and the fact it was USB 3.0 compatible. The read speeds were on par for USB 3.0 and the device functioned perfectly. Confirmed both write blocking and write capability worked for SATA interface. I haven't used the IDE yet.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked perfectly!

By: D.  on 2014-02-04

I was extremely skeptical given how inexpensive this was (compared to other devices with write-blocking capability) and the fact it was USB 3.0 compatible. The read speeds were on par for USB 3.0 and the device functioned perfectly. Confirmed both write blocking and write capability worked for SATA interface. I haven't used the IDE yet.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB IDE/SATA Write-Protect

By: Daniel James  on 2014-01-12

CoolGear products are excellent! I have tested the Write-Protect and it works as configured. I recommend the CoolGear USB 3.0 to IDE/SATA with Write-Protect. Amazon shipped promptly.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent for Linux based forensic investigations.

By: T. Jensen  on 2013-11-30

I do Linux based forensic analysis and this thing has been working great for me. I've only used it with SATA drives so far but the USB3 interface is nice and the write blocker works perfectly. The device shows up in fdisk -l but won't mount properly which is expected behavior. I've run foremost against the raw device and it works perfectly. Sleuthkit and the like work great as well. The only downside is that my co-worker mentioned that EnCase doesn't register that the device is write blocked in it's report. If I figure out a way for this to be registered properly by EnCase then I'll update this review.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Write blocker appears to work well.

By: ad0nis  on 2013-11-20

Bought it for the write blocker, which appears to be functional. It gave me an error when I tried to mount a SATA disk with write permissions enabled, which is exactly what I expected it to do. I do, however question how accurately it is transferring data, as the md5sum of the output file was not the same as the md5sum of the drive device object mounted within linux (dd output img file vs /dev/sdb) If this was a mistake in process on my part, then I would happily give it another star, as this did function for creating a disk image without me having to fork over several hundred for a certified forensic drive imager..
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Price, Great tool

By: Bob B.  on 2013-11-13

Works great, especially for an inexpensive Write Blocker. I was hesitant in purchasing this but it is well worth the money. I was happier with the performance of this write blocker than more expensive options.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good one, it supports WRITE protect !!

By: Airs Lin  on 2012-10-30

Good product to support the "WRITE PROTECT" when you want to connect your HDD to the customer's computer and you don't want to get VIRUS !!