1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

USB to RS-232 Serial Adapter DB9 - 8 Inch Short Cable

USA-FTDI-8
$15.99
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Buy

By: Thomas N.  on 2018-03-24

Works flawlessly with my Garmin Etrex Legend.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: turbo_26  on 2017-07-23

works fine
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Jim  on 2017-05-15

works
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Check the FTDI Version

By: DrBob  on 2016-12-26

Unfortunately, the chipset was NOT compatible with our needs. Newer Serial-USB adapters with current-version FTDI chips are now the standard. Older versions and other manufacturers are filled with problems with driver incompatibility.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Lewie Tran  on 2016-11-20

Nice product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Adapter for computers without Serial Ports

By: Michael Anderson  on 2016-01-20

Purchased the Gearmo USB to Serial DB9 adapter to connect printers to laptops. The setup is easy and other than sometimes pulling out of the USB slots they work great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Adapter for computers without Serial Ports

By: Michael Anderson  on 2016-01-20

Purchased the Gearmo USB to Serial DB9 adapter to connect printers to laptops. The setup is easy and other than sometimes pulling out of the USB slots they work great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
like the photo shows

By: NightFire  on 2015-12-09

This want packaged in a box, like the photo shows, but it includes everything is supposed to. It appears to be a durable and quality item. I bought this to program my Kenwood D710 but haven't had the opportunity yet. I'll update this review if there are any issues.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
like the photo shows

By: NightFire  on 2015-12-09

This want packaged in a box, like the photo shows, but it includes everything is supposed to.It appears to be a durable and quality item.I bought this to program my Kenwood D710 but haven't had the opportunity yet. I'll update this review if there are any issues.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Patrick M.  on 2015-07-17

Fast ship great product Thanks
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Patrick M.  on 2015-07-17

Fast ship great product Thanks
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good

By: Robert Donovan  on 2015-05-08

Use with an old GARMIN to todays laptops.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good

By: Robert Donovan  on 2015-05-08

Use with an old GARMIN to todays laptops.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Ivan Goh Chee Hong  on 2015-05-07

nice Product, work great with my win7 4bit
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Ivan Goh Chee Hong  on 2015-05-07

nice Product, work great with my win7 4bit
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great on OS X

By: M. White  on 2015-04-20

Surprised me that it worked on OS X Yosemite without installing any drivers. I've used other serial USB interfaces (for arduino and similar projects) that required some tinkering to get working. This was literally just plug in, attach other end to Juniper console, and "screen /dev/cu.usbserial-xxxxx 9600" and I'm on the device.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great on OS X

By: M. White  on 2015-04-20

Surprised me that it worked on OS X Yosemite without installing any drivers. I've used other serial USB interfaces (for arduino and similar projects) that required some tinkering to get working. This was literally just plug in, attach other end to Juniper console, and "screen /dev/cu.usbserial-xxxxx 9600" and I'm on the device.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
No drivers needed

By: Dominic Romeo  on 2015-02-18

Works out of the box on Windows 8.1 and Mac OS X Yosemite (10.10)
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
No drivers needed

By: Dominic Romeo  on 2015-02-18

Works out of the box on Windows 8.1 and Mac OS X Yosemite (10.10)
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This adapter worked when several other brands did not. ...

By: SteveL  on 2015-02-13

This adapter worked when several other brands did not. I was trying to upload an EIA file to a T32 control on a Mazak lathe. This adapter worked right out of the box.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This adapter worked when several other brands did not. ...

By: SteveL  on 2015-02-13

This adapter worked when several other brands did not. I was trying to upload an EIA file to a T32 control on a Mazak lathe. This adapter worked right out of the box.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: James Sinclair  on 2014-12-26

Converts USB to DB9 like a charm.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: James Sinclair  on 2014-12-26

Converts USB to DB9 like a charm.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Polish Castle  on 2014-12-01

perfect.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Polish Castle  on 2014-12-01

perfect.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works with Windows 8 and Nexus 7

By: anon  on 2014-05-09

I got these adapters to use in Windows 8. They work perfectly. I also tested them with a Nexus 7 (2013) + OTG adapter and it works with no problems.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works with Windows 8 and Nexus 7

By: anon  on 2014-05-09

I got these adapters to use in Windows 8. They work perfectly. I also tested them with a Nexus 7 (2013) + OTG adapter and it works with no problems.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product!

By: Chuck McBrayer  on 2014-02-17

I tried several products like this but have yet found one that worked as easy as this one. I recommend this product to anybody needing a serial adapter. The driver selection covers almost every OS including Mac. Again Great Product!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Win7 x64 compatible.

By: Kevin  on 2014-02-15

Needed a USB 2 serial cable that worked with Win7 64 bit. It works as advertised, install was quick and easy.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works very well

By: F. PC  on 2013-12-29

Finally, a USB to DB9 adapter that works with NO problems, I use this several times a week to console into multiple brands of routers, switches and voip systems and haven't had any issues. Ordered several more for my field techs.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Compact! plug and play!

By: Owen Sit  on 2013-10-20

Work right away on my Windows 7 64bit laptop. The USB connector is backward. I have to plug it in with the logo facing down on my laptop, other than that everything work for me.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Compact! plug and play!

By: Owen Sit  on 2013-10-20

Work right away on my Windows 7 64bit laptop.The USB connector is backward. I have to plug it in with the logo facing down on my laptop, other than that everything work for me.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent Product

By: Eddie Money  on 2013-09-04

This one works for Windows 7. Unlike the other one I just reviewd. It's iffy when you buy s*** made in China.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Did what it should

By: David Dugas  on 2013-07-27

Installed on Windows 7 operating system without any fanfare. I plugged it in and it worked as expected on some old serial port hardware (Microchip MPLAB/PICstart Plus).
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Did what it should

By: David Dugas  on 2013-07-27

Installed on Windows 7 operating system without any fanfare. I plugged it in and it worked as expected on some old serial port hardware (Microchip MPLAB/PICstart Plus).
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
works with 64 bit win 7

By: Shaggykjb  on 2013-06-17

product works with cisco products and win 7 32 & 64 bit operating systems. build quality is sturdy. disk comes with drivers.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
works with 64 bit win 7

By: Shaggykjb  on 2013-06-17

product works with cisco products and win 7 32 & 64 bit operating systems.build quality is sturdy.disk comes with drivers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
No Software Required!!

By: Curtis  on 2013-05-05

Only cables so far that did not require software for the device to work. Kept my engineering team from wasting valuable time walking field techs through the installation process.
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Would not buy again.

By: JOEBARNEY  on 2013-02-22

Bought it because of the reviews. It does work with Windows 7 64 bit so it gets more than 1 star. But... It hangs the usb port when it falls out which requires a reboot to get the port back. It fall out often because the steel shell does not hold it in place. I bought 3 in Nov 2012, one has stopped working, the plastic over the usb connection fell off on another, one still works but the the problems listed above.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great

By: wabarron  on 2013-01-30

Super replacement for the Prolific adapters; which will not work on Windows 64 bit machines. Easy install and use on my PCs
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great

By: wabarron  on 2013-01-30

Super replacement for the Prolific adapters; which will not work on Windows 64 bit machines. Easy install and use on my PCs
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Product works as expected

By: shadowbozo  on 2013-01-12

If you have windows 7 64bit and need a USB to 9Pin serial, this is the adapter you want. It works. I did purchase another one of these that didn't work properly. Learn from my mistake.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works with Windows 7

By: Scott Richey  on 2013-01-09

It Works, well with windows 7. PROS: 1. Easy to install. 2. Works with Windows 7. 3. Talks to my external device.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB to Serial Adapter, windows 7

By: Amazon Customer  on 2012-12-13

I had a USB adapter that worked on windows 7 last year. When I hooked up the GPS this year it would not work. I was told by a techie that if I had automatic windows 7 updates, which we all do, that the old adapter would not work and I would need a 64 bit for windows 7 new adapter. I got it and loaded the program and it worked!! Who would have thunk it?
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
USB to Serial Adapter, windows 7

By: Amazon Customer  on 2012-12-13

I had a USB adapter that worked on windows 7 last year. When I hooked up the GPS this year it would not work. I was told by a techie that if I had automatic windows 7 updates, which we all do, that the old adapter would not work and I would need a 64 bit for windows 7 new adapter. I got it and loaded the program and it worked!! Who would have thunk it?
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It works well.

By: carl  on 2012-12-06

I needed a unit with the FTDI Chip, and this did the job. The installation, was straight forward and it is working with out any issues.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It just works!

By: Nacelle  on 2012-11-18

My non-techie co-worker was able to get it working without any help from me. Yeah!!! Just plug it in and it works.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked great

By: Super Happy  on 2012-11-10

Allowed me to interface a Promethean board with only a serial connection to my PC. Drivers installed automatically on Windows 7. Did not need disk. Very good product.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
meets expectation

By: Chief  on 2012-10-30

Driver for this device actually works in Win7 64 bit. Used for a Celestron Telescope to convert RS232 to usb.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
meets expectation

By: Chief  on 2012-10-30

Driver for this device actually works in Win7 64 bit. Used for a Celestron Telescope to convert RS232 to usb.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent adapter

By: Bevers  on 2012-08-13

After having trouble with numerous other usb-to-serial adapters, I am quite pleased with this one. It is well made, and the drivers are stable on 64-bit Win7.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent adapter

By: AB  on 2012-08-13

After having trouble with numerous other usb-to-serial adapters, I am quite pleased with this one. It is well made, and the drivers are stable on 64-bit Win7.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Perfect

By: Dalen  on 2012-08-03

I have a Garmin etrex vista gps and running Windows 7 and this cable worked perfectly to allow me to connect with the MapSource software on my computer. Thank you! I'm so happy!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Perfect

By: Dalen  on 2012-08-03

I have a Garmin etrex vista gps and running Windows 7 and this cable worked perfectly to allow me to connect with the MapSource software on my computer. Thank you! I'm so happy!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Does exactly what I needed

By: AlsatianWH  on 2012-06-23

I purchased this product to connect my Lenovo T420 to Cisco devices through the console port. Unfortunately, the newer ThinkPads do not include a serial port, even on the docking station. I am not sure why Cisco hasn't kept up with the time and changed their cable to terminate to USB or include an adapter from serial RS232 DB9-F to USB, because it cost me time to get what I needed. I got on Amazon and searched for a product that could provide the serial to USB conversion and came across this one. I read the reviews and heard a lot of positive feedback. I went ahead and ordered the device. The shipment,was delivered on time. I opened the box and saw the part and a drivers CD. I am running Windws 7 64- bit, so I was concerned I might have to use the disc. But I plugged the adapter into the console cable and then plugged the console cable into the Cisco device, and finally the adapter into my laptop. Windows automatically found the,drivers without needing the insertion of the CD. I fired up a PuTTY session and had restored console access. I was very happy with the product since it did everything it said it would do and I never had to search for the correct drivers on the CD. I am also happy with the service, as we received everything in the timeframe that was given to us at the time of purchase.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Does exactly what I needed

By: AlsatianWH  on 2012-06-23

I purchased this product to connect my Lenovo T420 to Cisco devices through the console port. Unfortunately, the newer ThinkPads do not include a serial port, even on the docking station. I am not sure why Cisco hasn't kept up with the time and changed their cable to terminate to USB or include an adapter from serial RS232 DB9-F to USB, because it cost me time to get what I needed.I got on Amazon and searched for a product that could provide the serial to USB conversion and came across this one. I read the reviews and heard a lot of positive feedback. I went ahead and ordered the device.The shipment,was delivered on time. I opened the box and saw the part and a drivers CD. I am running Windws 7 64- bit, so I was concerned I might have to use the disc. But I plugged the adapter into the console cable and then plugged the console cable into the Cisco device, and finally the adapter into my laptop. Windows automatically found the,drivers without needing the insertion of the CD. I fired up a PuTTY session and had restored console access.I was very happy with the product since it did everything it said it would do and I never had to search for the correct drivers on the CD. I am also happy with the service, as we received everything in the timeframe that was given to us at the time of purchase.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
WORKS GREAT 64bit windows 7

By: Jessica  on 2012-04-17

WORKS GREAT! on my windows 7 64bit computer, it recognized and installed it threw windows update automatically with out need or use of the cd. i did have to go into "device manager">"ports"> and click on the properties of the new device and change it from com3 to com1 for it to work properly with my palm device. otherwise it was stress free and easy to install even on my windows xp laptop, on the windows xp lap top running 32bit, it went threw the manual install, which followed the instructions provided in the pdf file on the cd. the windows xp computer was a breeze to get it installed on, a few clicks and it worked with my palm desktop software. no need to change it threw device manger from com3 to com1, on xp no settings needed to be changed in device manager, but on windows 7 64bit i did have to go into device manager to change it from com3 to com1 then enable com1 on my pamm desktop sync icon . no complaints. its well made and worked effortlessly on multiple computers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works great with Windows 7 x64 bit

By: AR  on 2012-03-30

Ordered this because my old USB to serial cable didn't work with Windows 7 64 bit. This one does. I bought it to use to program AVR microcontrollers on an Atmel STK500 board. It works perfectly. Didn't even need the CD as windows installed the drivers automatically. It is nice and short--no extra cable coiled up on my desk.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
As advertised! No more BSODs

By: Kaizoku!  on 2012-01-02

As someone that still needs to use serial console cables from time to time (accessing Cisco equipment), I needed something that wouldn't send my Windows 7 x64 laptop into BSOD hell. After some googling, it turns out the FTDI chipset works fine and doesn't cause issues with Windows 7 x64. I've tested this extensively while setting up and staging equipment for labs and customers. What I do notice (in putty) is that sometimes scrolling or pasting in a lot of commands can cause it to just stop working. It's easy to just close the session and reopen it, but it's annoying if you're working with a large script/configuration. I'll try secureCRT later to see if it's just a putty problem. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase since it allows me to do what I need to do without breaking my laptop =).
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
As advertised! No more BSODs

By: Kaizoku!  on 2012-01-02

As someone that still needs to use serial console cables from time to time (accessing Cisco equipment), I needed something that wouldn't send my Windows 7 x64 laptop into BSOD hell. After some googling, it turns out the FTDI chipset works fine and doesn't cause issues with Windows 7 x64.I've tested this extensively while setting up and staging equipment for labs and customers. What I do notice (in putty) is that sometimes scrolling or pasting in a lot of commands can cause it to just stop working. It's easy to just close the session and reopen it, but it's annoying if you're working with a large script/configuration. I'll try secureCRT later to see if it's just a putty problem.Overall I'm very happy with the purchase since it allows me to do what I need to do without breaking my laptop =).
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works!

By: John Marrin  on 2011-10-12

Plugged it into my Win-7 64 NetTop's USB port and it automatically found the drivers and works great. I'll be buying another one when I get delivery of my new computer.