1 (727) 209-1300 | Mon-Fri 9a-5p ET

Product Image

USB 3.0 to PATA and SATA 3.5 and 2.5 inch hard drive adapter

SS-128ASD
$32.88
We'd Very Much Like You to Rate our Products

Please be as detailed as possible with your Product review so others can benefit from your posting.

User Reviews

Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
crashed hard drive

By: Robert Verrico  on 2019-11-05

very easy to use basically just plug and play
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Find

By: East Texas Cooter  on 2019-10-15

Needed a device to capture data on some ancient IDE HDDs removed from defunct PCs. This was just the ticket to solve that dilemma. Worked great. Easy to use -- everything you need to power up HDDs and link to an operating PC or laptop is included. Ad photo showed multiple HDDs attached at the same time, but instructions say to connect only one at a time.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great for the price. Wuivk and easy to use

By: Chuck C.  on 2019-10-11

Quick & simple to use. No fancy enclosures to fiddle with. Have multiple hard drives and can easily disconnect/connect them to my PC.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Blast from the past!

By: Josh Yates  on 2019-08-21

 Of all purchases I have made over the past decade on Amazon, this little bitty adapter made a huge impact by rescuing possibly lost pictures within my life. This purchase is now in my top 3 purchases!I researched power cables, power adapters, and other methods on how I could regain access to my old external hard drives that were probably 15 years old. My old external hard drives were so old that they were not for sale anymore. Finally, I came across this gem by coolgear on Amazon. Although I was worried my hard drives would probably fail because of the careless physical nature the devices endured such as thrown into boxes and thrown into other boxes, smashed, etc., I was not completely hopeless and I purchased the adapter. The price and shipping was excellent! After I disassembled my external hard drive cases, I plugged in the coolgear adapter and all of my hard drives booted up successfully. The file transfer was also a success. Now, thanks to this gadget, I have pictures and videos that are no longer lost and saved on my local computer and cloud storage.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works

By: Steve  on 2019-06-07

Plug it in and it works can’t get any easier
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Thank you

By: Carolyn Woisard  on 2019-05-13

Does what it's supposed to
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Works but slow

By: Tony Kelsey  on 2019-02-09

It works but slow
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Brought my old hard drive alive

By: BBG  on 2019-01-01

The oem cable the powered my old external hard drive did not allow my computer to recognize the drive. My uncle who works in IT suggested this. I tried it and now I can access all my old files
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Exactly as described

By: Mike J.   on 2018-12-16

Works well on every drive I had.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
A Must-Have Item

By: Amazon Customer  on 2018-12-13

I bought one years ago and ended up leaving it at a TV transmitter site for their video server as a get-by setup (they're still using it after 3 years). I bought a 2nd one as it is a must-have item for us. It really helps to connect drives from old computers temporarily to the new computer to retrieve the data when a customer replaces their computer. I also use it to connect a Blu-Ray burner to my laptop to burn DVDs and Blu-Ray discs.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It works

By: Amazon Customer  on 2018-10-18

I have an old PATA drive and it was the only device I saw that said it would support it - worked great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as expected

By: Aceman  on 2018-08-03

Works just fine and all my hard drives fit on the adapter perfectly. It does what is says it does.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Be careful on older drives

By: Amazon Customer  on 2018-08-03

Moved data from older small capacity hard disks to a larger capacity SSD drive
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Be careful on older drives

By: Dennis Hunter  on 2018-08-03

Moved data from older small capacity hard disks to a larger capacity SSD drive
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
SATA/IDE adapter really works!

By: EBC  on 2018-05-28

Absolutely awesome device! Was able to recover irreplaceable baby pics and other data from a 10 year old IDE drive. Fortunately my molex power port was at the opposite end of the drive interface from the data leads so this device fit perfectly. I can see per a previous review where the device wouldn't work if your molex power was in the middle of the interface end. The device is powered by an AC adapter which is much more reliable than a USB powered device. This device is great and I'm so grateful I was able to recover my data!
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Works ok but no software!

By: Amazon Customer  on 2018-05-02

Should come with cloning software
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works well. I had all sorts of old drives--and ...

By: Kevin Mckay  on 2018-04-23

Works well. I had all sorts of old drives--and was able to pull the data off all of them with this.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Mof5  on 2018-03-29

Worked as expected
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
and I'm gonna have to say even though m not the most computer savvy person the instructions it came with made it very easy to use and understand

By: Eric cohen  on 2018-03-10

I'm a first time user of this product, and I'm gonna have to say even though m not the most computer savvy person the instructions it came with made it very easy to use and understand. Great prosuct!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Fatta Data from my PATA

By: Acy Jones  on 2018-02-23

I have an old PATA drive, just plugged in the USB, turned it on and wammo, hard drive accessed.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality product

By: lawman  on 2018-01-03

Works great
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: VJB  on 2017-12-17

Versatile
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Robert Nilsen  on 2017-10-10

Unit works very well. I had and still use the USB-2 version, now I have a USB-3 version.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I LOVE IT

By: Thomas E. Smith  on 2017-09-05

IT WORKS FOR ME.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent Product

By: BETSY SAWYERS  on 2017-08-22

This was a great purchase and saved me at least $100 because it enabled me to do some diagnostic work on my computer's hard drive myself and get data off of some older drives I thought I'd lost forever. It is very easy to use and I wish I had bought it sooner.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works great.

By: A.  on 2017-04-18

works great.one time i had a problem with the drivers automatically installing on my laptop, but that may have been the laptops fault.Great product that I haven't had any other problems with.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked Great for Me

By: Mel B  on 2017-04-08

This interface worked great for me. I was able to access 3 of my old tower drives and retrieved all of the data. The only thing it didn't have a connector for was an old technology laptop drive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Darryl Lee  on 2017-03-18

Life saver. Cleaning off old (various) hard drives. Highly recommend
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
One of the best devices for PC to hard drive interfaces i ever ...

By: Kevin V.  on 2017-03-15

One of the best devices for PC to hard drive interfaces i ever bought. A few years ago my computer broke and i had no means of reading my hard drives at the time so i found this. I have used it for my hard drives ever since. Runs on household current it could read and process your hard drives directly into the PC using the USB cables provided. For those with 3.5 hard drives it comes with a 8 pin power adapter for you downloading needs. The price? Affordable to everyone who has too many hard drives but not know whats on them. In this, you can find what you lost, gain what you have, or start over again with the Cool Gear USB hard drive reading system.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Fred Thornburg  on 2017-03-03

Did the job with no problems.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Very handy for dealing with loose drives

By: Some Hick  on 2017-01-31

Works beautifully. It's great to be able to work with loose hard drives, check drive contents before sending devices out to be repaired, clone drive content to a different style of drive, etc. A very handy adaptor for anyone with several devices kicking around. Also a good way to get some use out of old or obsolete machines by using their hard drives for backup, portability, and such.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear USB 3.0 to IDE and SATA Hard Drive worked first time right out of the box!

By: Technut  on 2017-01-12

CoolGear® USB 3.0 to IDE and SATA Hard Drive Adapter Universal 2.5/3.5/5.25 DrivesThe drives I used it on did not require an additional cable as the unit was small enough to attach right to the drives without blocking the power port as described in other posts. The power supply was 12v DC @ 3Amps strong enough to power any harddrive made without over heating the drive. Works on all harddrives made as far as I can see.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear USB 3.0 to IDE and SATA Hard Drive worked first time right out of the box!

By: Technut  on 2017-01-12

CoolGear
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Must have!

By: Erik Diaz Pagan  on 2016-12-05

Was extremely handy one day and glad I have it!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Must have!

By: Erik Diaz Pagan  on 2016-12-05

Was extremely handy one day and glad I have it!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
It easy to operate

By: SM  on 2016-09-19

It easy to operate, but it could not salvage my HD when disc failed to spin at all. Thanks.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
It easy to operate

By: SM  on 2016-09-19

It easy to operate, but it could not salvage my HD when disc failed to spin at all. Thanks.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as described

By: Patrick  on 2016-08-24

Works great. Helped me with a 4TB external drive that couldn't be read by my older adapter.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as described

By: Patrick  on 2016-08-24

Works great. Helped me with a 4TB external drive that couldn't be read by my older adapter.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-08-19

Worked amazing getting old information out of my old computer hard drive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-08-19

Worked amazing getting old information out of my old computer hard drive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This is amazing, if another reader won't read some drive

By: Levon  on 2016-08-17

This is amazing, if another reader won't read some drive, I use this and it works! Mounting the 3" drives are fun too, using the power and its extra wire makes it look cool while recovering data.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
This is amazing, if another reader won't read some drive

By: Levon  on 2016-08-17

This is amazing, if another reader won't read some drive, I use this and it works!Mounting the 3" drives are fun too, using the power and its extra wire makes it look cool while recovering data.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Fernando A Fernandez  on 2016-08-16

Great product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Fernando A Fernandez  on 2016-08-16

Great product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Only limited tests so far but works well so far.

By: Glenn J Mentel  on 2016-07-28

I've successfully tested every port except the 2.5" IDE. These were light tests, no major load, but it seems to work just fine.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Dennis L Elrod Jr  on 2016-07-19

It works well for me.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Four Stars

By: Dennis L Elrod Jr  on 2016-07-19

It works well for me.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Best cable version ever

By: PCERC  on 2016-06-23

Way better than the old 2.0 version. The Power supply is designed much better as well.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Handy Size.

By: DWM26  on 2016-06-23

A little slow connecting but when it did it read the drives properly and help save some data for customer. Like the compact size as compared to the old case styles. Used on IDE and SATA drives without an issue.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Handy Size.

By: DWM26  on 2016-06-23

A little slow connecting but when it did it read the drives properly and help save some data for customer. Like the compact size as compared to the old case styles. Used on IDE and SATA drives without an issue.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Successfully retrieved hundreds of jpegs from two old hard drives...

By: Bob Zag  on 2016-06-14

I used this device to retrieve hundreds of jpegs from two old hard drives. One hard drive was from 2002, the other from 2005. The product worked flawlessly and I was very pleased with the results. Both hard drives were Maxtor ATA's, one 60GB and the other 80GB. The whole process was easy. I am no computer expert.... I would describe my level of computer experience as beginner/intermediate.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Successfully retrieved hundreds of jpegs from two old hard drives...

By: Bob Zag  on 2016-06-14

I used this device to retrieve hundreds of jpegs from two old hard drives. One hard drive was from 2002, the other from 2005. The product worked flawlessly and I was very pleased with the results. Both hard drives were Maxtor ATA's, one 60GB and the other 80GB. The whole process was easy. I am no computer expert.... I would describe my level of computer experience as beginner/intermediate.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent!!

By: Amazon User  on 2016-06-04

Saved my data from my external terabyte. Excellent!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent!!

By: Amazon User  on 2016-06-04

Saved my data from my external terabyte. Excellent!!!
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Three Stars

By: ladanya  on 2016-06-01

okay product.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Three Stars

By: tizpar  on 2016-06-01

okay product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as designed.

By: Ed Hawley  on 2016-05-16

We were trying to resurrect an old PC and this device was a life saver. We were able to clone the old 18GB HDD and move the it to a newer SSD. It was easy to use and worked as designed with no issues. Great product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works as designed.

By: Ed Hawley  on 2016-05-16

We were trying to resurrect an old PC and this device was a life saver. We were able to clone the old 18GB HDD and move the it to a newer SSD. It was easy to use and worked as designed with no issues. Great product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: wmello  on 2016-05-03

Works great, fast and portable.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: wmello  on 2016-05-03

Works great, fast and portable.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Great

By: MICHAEL GROGAN  on 2016-05-02

does what I need. load old and new drives to PC for clean up or trash !
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Great

By: MICHAEL GROGAN  on 2016-05-02

does what I need. load old and new drives to PC for clean up or trash !
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: John T  on 2016-03-27

Great product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: John T  on 2016-03-27

Great product
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: V. SImmons  on 2016-02-21

Gift
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: V Simmons  on 2016-02-21

Gift
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: V Simmons  on 2016-02-21

Gift
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-01-05

I was able to use this on my old hard drive rescued many memories.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2016-01-05

I was able to use this on my old hard drive rescued many memories.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great kit

By: hvac38  on 2016-01-01

This worked extremely well, and is easy to setup and use.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great kit

By: hvac38  on 2016-01-01

This worked extremely well, and is easy to setup and use.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Gomez  on 2015-12-08

Awesome! It helped me to recover all my data from a dead hard drive!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Gomez  on 2015-12-08

Awesome! It helped me to recover all my data from a dead hard drive!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2015-11-25

Needed item at a good price delivered in a timely manner
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon devotee  on 2015-11-25

Needed item at a good price delivered in a timely manner
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon devotee  on 2015-11-25

Needed item at a good price delivered in a timely manner
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
worked great no issue was delivered in a timely manner

By: robert  on 2015-11-24

worked great no issue was delivered in a timely manner. I used it to test 20 hard drive at my mew job with out issue all but two worked thanks for a great product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
worked great no issue was delivered in a timely manner

By: robert  on 2015-11-24

worked great no issue was delivered in a timely manner. I used it to test 20 hard drive at my mew job with out issue all but two worked thanks for a great product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product!

By: Chris  on 2015-11-03

Fantastic product. Well made, no strange instructions either.... acts exactly like an external drive as the manufacturer stated. I recently purchased a similar product that was $10 cheaper and was a total piece of garbage. Returned it, purchased this one and am very happy. Worked easily with both my 2/5 IDE and SATA drives. Ensure you set your jumpers (if applicable) to "master" and it'll work fine. Love it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product!

By: Chris  on 2015-11-03

Fantastic product. Well made, no strange instructions either.... acts exactly like an external drive as the manufacturer stated. I recently purchased a similar product that was $10 cheaper and was a total piece of garbage. Returned it, purchased this one and am very happy. Worked easily with both my 2/5 IDE and SATA drives. Ensure you set your jumpers (if applicable) to "master" and it'll work fine. Love it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great solution to reading and using your old drives

By: JoeinWA  on 2015-10-30

Works great, no problems at all, and worked on all my old drives, even the Western Digital ones that many of these devices won't recognize.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great solution to reading and using your old drives

By: JoeinWA  on 2015-10-30

Works great, no problems at all, and worked on all my old drives, even the Western Digital ones that many of these devices won't recognize.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Kent Shaffer  on 2015-10-24

Works as advertised
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Kent Shaffer  on 2015-10-24

Works as advertised
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Electron  on 2015-10-21

It works exactly as described.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I've been happy several times that I have this tool

By: Active Shooter  on 2015-10-12

This is so easy to use. I used to keep a tower PC handy so that I could swap drives in and out of it. Now I can recover and backup data from various hard drives on my laptop. If people come to you to fix their computer problems, you need one of these adapters. If you have a stack of old hard drives that you'd like to "go through" one day, you need one of these adapters.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2015-10-12

Worked beautifully!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I've been happy several times that I have this tool

By: Active Shooter  on 2015-10-12

This is so easy to use. I used to keep a tower PC handy so that I could swap drives in and out of it. Now I can recover and backup data from various hard drives on my laptop.If people come to you to fix their computer problems, you need one of these adapters.If you have a stack of old hard drives that you'd like to "go through" one day, you need one of these adapters.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Amazon Customer  on 2015-10-12

Worked beautifully!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worth every penny

By: df1898  on 2015-10-08

Until I did a little research, I was unaware such a product existed. I was able to access and transfer files from the hard drive in my dead laptop to my new laptop with little problem. I was prepared to take the old hard drive to a computer expert, who probably would have charged me an arm and a leg. This is a great product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worth every penny

By: df1898  on 2015-10-08

Until I did a little research, I was unaware such a product existed. I was able to access and transfer files from the hard drive in my dead laptop to my new laptop with little problem. I was prepared to take the old hard drive to a computer expert, who probably would have charged me an arm and a leg. This is a great product.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
The device itself works great.

By: Keenen  on 2015-10-03

Item came exactly as described. I would have given it 5 stars if it included a bag/case to hold all the parts in. The device itself works great.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
The device itself works great.

By: KM  on 2015-10-03

Item came exactly as described. I would have given it 5 stars if it included a bag/case to hold all the parts in. The device itself works great.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
I Like It

By: Mark Evans  on 2015-09-29

Works fine. Only issue is the switch slider fell off right away. Easily placed back on, but it's small and if you don't notice it falling off you will have fun searching for it. Probably can be glued on easily enough. Otherwise seems well made and is recognized by the system immediately with any drive I attach. Good unit.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
I Like It

By: Mark Evans  on 2015-09-29

Works fine. Only issue is the switch slider fell off right away. Easily placed back on, but it's small and if you don't notice it falling off you will have fun searching for it. Probably can be glued on easily enough. Otherwise seems well made and is recognized by the system immediately with any drive I attach. Good unit.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Ted M  on 2015-09-28

Very, very handy little tool for getting data to or from most sizes of drive. Works as avertised
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Ted M  on 2015-09-28

Very, very handy little tool for getting data to or from most sizes of drive. Works as avertised
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Caitlin  on 2015-08-25

Love it!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Caitlin  on 2015-08-25

Love it!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Nina  on 2015-08-17

Works great!
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works just fine. I was able to hook up an old ...

By: JG  on 2015-06-22

Works just fine. I was able to hook up an old 2.5" PATA drive without any problems.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works great, with one caveat.

By: David Francisco  on 2015-06-21

I've only tried the adapter on 2 old 3.5" IDE drives. It worked, but by trial and error I discovered that my computer (an ASUS Laptop running Windows 7 Pro) would only detect the external HD using this adapter if the computer was powered up AFTER connecting and powering up the adapter and external HD. Otherwise, everything has worked fine. I haven't tried formatting any drives yet.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great for Recovering Data from Crashed Machines

By: Joe P.  on 2015-06-19

All your filez is mine, lol.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: manu  on 2015-06-08

Works perfect
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Get that old data off those old drives

By: Pony  on 2015-06-05

No complaints. Does what it needs to do. Just wish the power cords it came with were longer.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Isaiah Trotter-Brooks  on 2015-06-03

Great product. Easy to assemble and great reliable back up to fix broken hard drives.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good Design, Good Quality, Good Performance.

By: Kristin M.  on 2015-03-19

Very kewel geer. Works well with no problems. Excellent transfer rate. Compact, well designed easy to use, and versatile.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
great

By: Doug Potter  on 2015-03-02

Exceptional product, great value
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Worked like a champ

By: RTurbo1  on 2015-02-26

Instructions that came with unit leave a lot to be desired. After about an hour, I got it to read an IDE and SATA drive. Worked like a champ. Tried three more IDE drives and could not get desktop to recognize them. Directions no help. Could be bad drives? Or is it Windows 8? Will never know I guess...... Also had problem hooking up SATA drive. Came in conflict with power cable hookup. Looking on CoolGear website there appears to be a newer version tat eliminates this design flaw. I would recommend that unit even if it costs more.......
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great way to take drives out of old machines and ...

By: R. Patel  on 2015-02-25

Total life saver. Great way to take drives out of old machines and erasing them before putting them back and donating the machine. Works perfectly even with OLD drives although on some old drives you may need to restart the drive a few times to get it to show up on your desktop.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Must have in toolkit

By: Zed  on 2015-02-21

Works great, super handy
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
have not used it yet. Also did not realize ...

By: John P. White  on 2015-01-18

have not used it yet. Also did not realize it does not have a cooling cover for the drive.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
have not used it yet. Also did not realize ...

By: John  on 2015-01-18

have not used it yet. Also did not realize it does not have a cooling cover for the drive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Essential tool for DIY computer guy

By: Quay G. Finefrock  on 2015-01-15

Wouldn't be without it. Perfect for working with failed computers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Essential tool for DIY computer guy

By: Quay  on 2015-01-15

Wouldn't be without it. Perfect for working with failed computers.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: rachel  on 2015-01-09

It worked!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
it came in a nicely packaged box and easy to install and works great

By: Manuel  on 2015-01-07

This is a must have item, it came in a nicely packaged box and easy to install and works great.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Love this thing, don't know why I didn't buy one earlier.

By: N Masters  on 2014-12-30

Love this thing. I found all my old laptops and netbooks and used this to recover all of the photographs and documents we thought were gone forever without paying someone way too much money to restore for us. If you have old laptops that died before you were able to backup your pictures and documents, this is a must have item.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: D. Ringer  on 2014-12-05

Everyone should have one! It's well made, and handles IDE drives of ALL types and sizes. I use old drives as dedicated storage for large projects and backups. Yes, you can use flash drives for those purposes, but if you have a box full of old drives . . .. Also, everything runs cool if you elevate the drive a little bit to let air flow under it.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works as advertised does a good job of allowing you to get data off of ...

By: Jharris  on 2014-11-28

Works as advertised does a good job of allowing you to get data off of older drives as well as drives you have removed from machines to work with the drive. I only wish it had a switch to turn off writing to drives it is connected to. Then it would be perfect for forensic analysis of drive data.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: M. Thompson  on 2014-11-17

Works well.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
It works... Coolgear

By: Mr. Chuck  on 2014-11-10

Works as advertised, all drives I have connected to this adapter has worked flawlessly so far.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: adeoluresearch  on 2014-11-09

V good
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
A great Hard Drive to USB 3 adapter

By: Carl E. Meece III  on 2014-11-04

An excellent USB 3 to SATA/IDE adapter. I tested this with an SSD and a 2.5 inch laptop hard drive and both worked perfectly. The power switch on top of the adapter is a nice touch, as you can get all the cables attached before powering up the drive. You'll need an IDE cable if you want to use this adapter with IDE drives. Attaching an IDE drive directly to this adapter will not leave any room for attaching the power cable to the back of the drive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
I do love it, it fixed my external

By: Holly Woodward  on 2014-11-02

I do love it , it fixed my external drive
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: sam carter  on 2014-10-21

it did everything I wanted it to do.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
The results were not good. I was talking to a friend who reccommended ...

By: T. Frank  on 2014-09-29

I bought this to try to recover documents and photos from old PATA IDE 3.5" hard drives. The drives were old (Two computer generations) and I tried to recover them by hooking the up to my last computer via ribbon cable. The results were not good. I was talking to a friend who reccommended a Pata to USB hookup. I found this one on Amazon. I thought the main HD on my old computer had crashed, but apparently, it was the motherboard. After connecting the CoolGear, I found both hard drives from my old, old computer were alive and well. This Coolgear product worked perfectly and I was able to recover all that I needed from both HDD's. It saved me tons of money as Hard Drive recovery people wanted a minimum of $700.00 to pull anything off the disk. THANKS Coolgear!!!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: George H.  on 2014-09-18

Had no problem in transferring date from one disk to the other. Worked as advertised
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Keith  on 2014-09-18

Exactly as described, came in a timely fashion, and competively priced.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Good luck

By: Thomas H. Fields  on 2014-09-16

This product may work on some hard drives, but not all. It's a crap shoot.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: Michael Alberts  on 2014-09-08

Worked
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just like it was mounted in your computer

By: Mark Manring  on 2014-08-28

Behaves exactly like a hard drive mounted in your computer; formatting, data transfer, exactly the same. The USB 3.0 is really fast as well. I highly recommend it.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Good, I guess.

By: Jeff  on 2014-08-26

Seems to work. The problem lies in if you have questions or issues. There is nowhere to go to ask. There is no clue in the user manual as to who you can contact, nor is Google of any help. So basically this thing either works, or it doesn't work, but you have no recourse for assistance if it doesn't. For the record, it worked for me, but I have a couple of HDDs that cause the device to summarily disappear from the device manager if they are hooked up. I have nowhere to turn to for help with that issue.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Five Stars

By: J.W. Green  on 2014-08-23

Works as described. (Win 8.1, 64-bit, retrieved data from some laptop drives and a SATA desktop drive)
Product Rating:
2 out of 5 stars
Beware with 3.5" IDE drives

By: Jane E.  on 2014-08-07

As a previous reviewer mentioned, this adapter will not plug into 3.5" IDE drives with the power and IDE ports situated next to each other. This affects 5% of hard drives and 100% of CD (IDE) drives that I've seen. If you're looking to transfer data from/to an IDE hard drive, you probably won't run into this problem. However, if you're looking to use this adapter with a CD drive, definitely check for the positioning of the power and IDE ports before purchasing. To me this is a design problem that should never have passed QC--hence the low rating.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Nice

By: Brian  on 2014-08-05

It works!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works on a Mac, Works on WIN7, It just Works!!!

By: R. A. Schultz  on 2014-06-18

Pros: (Easily stated...) 1. Well built (for a plastic unit). Not fragile; actually pretty solid. 2. The in-cable on/off switch previously criticized is now on the disk interface. Again solid. 3. IDE disks previously formatted for the Mac OS appeared seemlessly on the Mac Desktop. (10.9.3) 4. IDE disks previously formatted for NTFS appear seamlessly on the Mac or Win7 Desktop/Computer window. 5. The on/off switch on the disk interface allows "Quasi" hot-swapping of drives. (Drag the disk to the trash though before you turn the switch to off.) Cons: (Searched for these...) 1. IDE disks previously formatted for the Mac OS are not readable in Win7. (The disk is present in Computer Management but requires an NTFS/FAT format before useable.) 2. The disks - outside of an enclosure that usually have fans blowing on the disks - get quite warm. (I wouldn't use the 'CoolGear' adapter as a full-time replacement for an external drive.) 3. No storage or carry case is included/offered. It's worth the extra $$$
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear is a must have.

By: Thomas  on 2014-05-18

This is definitely a 5 star item. It's a must have for anyone that owns a computer. This device allows you transfers files from a SATA or IDE hard drive that is about to or have crashed. This device allows you to get access to those files that you once thought were lost for good.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
okay

By: R. Musgrove  on 2014-05-18

I was hoping it would help me retrieve data on a crashed external drive, but that didn't happen. I guess the problem is too severe to be fixed with this adapter.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent

By: R. James Higman  on 2014-05-14

I came home to find my fire alarm blaring and an electrical smell in my computer room; something had burnt out in my computer. This little device saved the day. My hard drive was ok and I installed this device in minutes and was able to retrieve my all my data. I'm using the old drive as a back up drive. I highly recommend this product.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product

By: Omar Molina  on 2014-05-12

Everyone should have this in their home or office! Try this device FIRST before you send your hard drive to a store or your manufacturer! It saves you money and time. It's very easy to use.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just what the doctor ordered

By: J.W.A.  on 2014-04-23

Had a bunch of photo files on an old Dell computer with a IDE hard drive that wouldn't boot anymore (bad video card or who knows) Took the hard drive out plugged it into this baby, and in to my Mac pro through the USB connector, and it worked like a charm, had access to all the photo files and folders. For 35 bucks small price to pay.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear® USB 3.0 to SATA and IDE Hard Drive Adapter

By: Fred D'Angelo  on 2014-04-19

It's easy to use, and it works well. I plugged my hard drive into the adapter, connected the adapter to its power supply, connected the adapter to a USB port on my PC then turned on the adapter's power. The hard drive began spinning, the computer recognized it, and windows loaded its directory data into the file system.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear® USB 3.0 to SATA and IDE Hard Drive Adapter

By: Fred D'Angelo  on 2014-04-19

It's easy to use, and it works well. I plugged my hard drive into the adapter, connected the adapter to its power supply, connected the adapter to a USB port on my PC then turned on the adapter's power. The hard drive began spinning, the computer recognized it, and windows loaded its directory data into the file system.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
CoolGear® USB 3.0 to SATA and IDE Hard Drive Adapter

By: Fred D'Angelo  on 2014-04-19

It's easy to use, and it works well. I plugged my hard drive into the adapter, connected the adapter to its power supply, connected the adapter to a USB port on my PC then turned on the adapter's power. The hard drive began spinning, the computer recognized it, and windows loaded its directory data into the file system.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent product for temporary connecting of a bare hard drive to a computer

By: J. Kelly  on 2014-04-09

I got this to use for testing older drives with new hardware to see if they are still good drives. Works great if you don't want to own several different drive type adapters.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works great

By: Randall Petrik  on 2014-04-04

Use old hard drives for off site storage or back-up or get at the files on that old computer you thought were lost forever.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
This only works with a 3.5 IDE Hard Drive

By: Jose Concepcion  on 2014-03-05

I was able to access my IDE hard drive with this thing. The only part I had a tough time with was accessing my files. I had to make the IDE Hard Drive recognize my new computer as the owner via the security section when you click on properties. I also had to make all the files share-able. My gripes with this thing is that it will not recognize or read a Standard SATA Hard Drive nor a 2.5 IDE Hard Drive. The switch button easily slips off. I say buys something better and more reliable.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Does what it claims it will

By: Salt Creek Jim  on 2014-02-08

I needed to transfer files from old hard drives to a new computer with installing the old drives into the actual computer. The CoolGear adapter worked perfectly for this task.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Does the trick.

By: anthonyg  on 2014-02-06

It's unobtrusive and easy to setup, even thought you have a couple cables hanging out. But it's easy to get a HD quickly connected so you can check it/ recover/ delete it. Whatever you need. Sturdy construction. Recommended.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works well

By: FredZarguna  on 2014-01-25

So far I've had no issues with this from a data transfer or reliability perspective. I will note two mechanical problems that keep me from giving it all five stars. If you can live with them in your physical configuration, it's a five star item. 1) The SATA connection is built a bit too close to the thinner side of the plastic shell. This tends to make larger drives lift the shell off the table top [or whatever] surface, which can potentially interrupt the connection. I would recommend sitting the drive on edge [front edge/right/or left edge down on the surface instead of the flat top or bottom of the drive] to avoid this issue. 2) The supplied cable works well for me, however, I can see situations where the cable would be too short if your only access is to the back of the PC. A six foot cable would be a huge improvement, and since it's a proprietary USB 3.0 connection to PC, good luck finding a longer cable on your own.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product

By: Kristi Scherer  on 2013-12-21

This is a great product. A must for all computer users. I have used other products, but this one is the best.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Did not meet expectations

By: Rocky  on 2013-12-13

It does not consistently read the hard drives and their has already been a piece break / fall off device.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Device works, Too short of a cable >:(

By: Cameron  on 2013-12-04

I'm furious at the fact that this device only came with a 2 foot USB 3.0 cable and that now I have to purchase an extension or a longer cable in general. Who the heck came up with the brilliant idea that it would be ok to only put a tiny USB 3.0 cable in the box? As for the device itself yes it works great but I may never order a CoolGear device again because of the length of cable they saw fit to include. If you decide to buy this make sure you purchase an extension for USB 3.0 if you need something longer than a couple feet. As stated though the device itself works just fine I'm just on here to vent because it's late and I just unboxed it and wanting to put it on top of my desk but it won't reach and lay flat as it needs to so I had to put it just on top of my tower for now which isn't where I'd like it to be.
Product Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
Good with one exception!

By: Matthew Holmes  on 2013-11-30

WARNING: Older IDE drives that have the IDE port and Power port flush next to each other - you can see from the product image that the CoolGear IDE plug will block where the power plug should go, so you will not be able to use this for IDE drives that have the power port directly next to the IDE port. Aside from that, works great like all CoolGear products - highly recommended with that one caveat!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Buy This!!!!!!

By: William  on 2013-11-30

This product was exactly as described and worked perfectly. I ordered another brand before this one an ended up returning it. DO yourself a favor and save yourself some time by buying this one first!
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Works

By: Pilgrim  on 2013-11-24

Item worked just great. Would recommend to my friends or if needed I would buy again. I was not able to get it to work with an XP computer.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great Adapter

By: Sonny  on 2013-11-24

Great adapter which gives you the ability to connect to many different drives and includes power for 3.5 inch drives.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Easy

By: Amazon Customer  on 2013-11-14

Plug it in and it works, just how I like it. It doesn't need any more to be a review.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Saved my data and my money!

By: Karma Monkey  on 2013-10-26

This thing is great! I had a Seagate Expansion 1 TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive (STBX1000101) that stopped working. (It was less than a year old, BTW.) I consulted with a few different data recovery companies online and they all wanted several hundred dollars. I knew the problem was not with the hard drive but with the power or USB connection, so I didn't want to pay that kind of money for what I knew would be a quick fix, if only I knew how. I hate businesses that prey on people's technical ignorance. Anyway, I kept researching the issue and found a video on YouTube of a guy who had a similar problem and used this adapter kit to get his data back. I ordered it, followed the hook-up instructions (I didn't need to install any of the drivers included in the kit.) and - presto! - I had access to my data. I've ordered a replacement HD enclosure and will continue to use the drive. This adapter won't work in every HD failure situation, but it's well worth the money to give it a try and see if you can do it yourself before getting ripped off by greedy, dishonest jerks.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked great

By: John  on 2013-10-25

Had to jumper some stuff on the hard drive itself but other than that it worked great for a laptop hard drive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Helped recover files from crashed hard drive

By: Kris M.  on 2013-10-05

This adapter allowed me to recover documents and pictures from my sister's hard drive after it crashed/would not start in her computer.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worth it!

By: Adam Wiethoff  on 2013-10-04

Very cool! Works smooth and easy. Great connections and simple. USB 3.0 is a much needed feature for working with drives
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Great product for copying and imaging hard drives

By: Sherri M. Kinsella  on 2013-10-02

Fast service and great product. I've never used this brand, but it has performed well and I am glad for the purchase.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Very handy

By: Wooly Bull  on 2013-10-02

Having this device makes it convenient to connect any HDD to my testbed for diagnostics/data recovery/backup. Should have done this years ago.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Terrific Device

By: Vincent Tracey  on 2013-09-24

The device is super easy to connect and with the on/off switch is a breeze to disconnect the HDD's to my computer. I recommend this for anyone who needs to transfer data when the computer system has failed and you have no other way to save the data on the drive.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
The CoolGear® Hard Drive Adapter from Amazon exceeded my expectations.

By: John Mayfield  on 2013-09-22

Product is well built and expect will outlast me. It is of a more "finished" appearance than many alternatives. There are competitors that offer a product that looks more make-shift, home made, barebones than the CoolGear® Adapter. I had multiple old laptops and PC of the family, which for varuous reasons were no longer functioning well enough to access data on their drives. Due to potential identity theft and other privacy concerns, I couldn't trust selling, giving away or even recycling these old systems until I was sure I had all data I needed from them and had wiped beyond recovery all data on them. I have been "planning" to pull the drives for some time. I had one of the more course style hard drive adapter which I had used many years ago. But I found it was limited to IDE drives and some of the drives I needed to purge were ATA. The CoolGear® Adapter handled every different drive I had from my oldest defunct desktop to my most recent but unreliable laptop. The only issue I can raise as a caution (and it really isn't a serious problem) is how some drives are housed within supporting structures which can block connection with the CoolGear® Adapter, because of it's more refined form. The more rough and unrefined designs might fit with less trouble. However, in my case, I found that each such complication was easily addressed by either removing the housing with screwdriver and/or spanner or by just bending the light metal used on such structures to get easy access to connectors and then just re-straighten the mounting when finished. I now have 2 old desktops still usable as servers for a home or small business network and 2 laptops that only need power plug connectors replaced and new batteries, which I can sell at a garage sale. I have already given the 3rd laptop to a relative to salvage parts (including the hard drive) for his identical model so that his old system now works perfectly again. I have no regrets with this purchase of the The CoolGear® Hard Drive Adapter from Amazon. In fact it has become a budding new hobby or perhaps even a business as I am now looking for opportunities to use it again.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Works fine for hard drives

By: Jane E.  on 2013-09-07

Works great for hard drives. The connections don't work for CD or DVD drive (at least mine) without using a cable extender due to obstruction of the power plug, the connections are too close to use the coolgear by itself. Worked great on a hard drive. Noticeable difference in speed between CoolGear® USB 3.0 to SATA and IDE Hard Drive Adapter Universal 2.5/3.5/5.25 Drives the 3.0 and 2.0 connection, both worked. Using on a linux box so don't know how the windows drivers or the backup software works.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
works well. does what is advertised to do.

By: Sweet_Guy  on 2013-09-07

i used it to clone my windows 8 machine from a normal hard drive to a samsung SSD. worked a charm had no problems with it at all. im not a tech guy but this thing feels quality and is good value for money
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Three in one and works great!

By: Kjartan Valdimarsson  on 2013-08-30

Using Windows 7, I used the CoolGear USB 3.0 adapter for retrieving files from broken down old computers 2.5" SATA and 3.5" IDE hard drives. The adapter worked exactly as expected.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
No fires, no sparks, no malfunctions

By: Bradley A. Woodruff  on 2013-08-30

My ThinkPad laptop promptly recognized a 3.5 inch 1 TB SATA harddrive from my old NAS box. I wiped it clean and reformatted it, and it's ready to sell. This adapter costs a bit more than some of the other products listed on Amazon which are meant to do the same thing, but it's definitely worth it. No fires, no sparks, no malfunctions. If you ever have occasion to connect any internal harddrive to another computer (without actually installing it), this is the tool to use.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good to have one around

By: XiMiX  on 2013-07-12

There are a lot of USB 2.0 adapters, but they are too slow to be practical for today's larger drives. USB 3.0 is a much quicker way for backup purpose and this adapter is one of the few that are easy to use and works with both SATA and IDE.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Good to have one around

By: AJ/X0  on 2013-07-12

There are a lot of USB 2.0 adapters, but they are too slow to be practical for today's larger drives. USB 3.0 is a much quicker way for backup purpose and this adapter is one of the few that are easy to use and works with both SATA and IDE.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Did the Job

By: Scott  on 2013-07-08

I looked at many of these on Amazon and was a little worried by the reviews, but it did the job just fine. Its a fragile little device, I can think of many ways to break it. I wouldnt leave it laying around, but for supervised usage its ok. The connectors aren't exactly a tight fit and it really doesn't work that great on a flat surface unless you match the drive height with the device using some foam or whatever under the drive you are working with. Not to be moved when transferring data! It didn't use drivers on win8, just plugged it in. There was a mini-disk in the box but I didn't look at it. My first test was a Velociraptor SATA drive through to the USB3 on my laptop (fast). Worked great! I have done a laptop drive and a few other SATA's since. Now I will use it to make money by retrieving data of broken computers from all the people who know I work in IT and bug me all the time for data retrieval off a healthy drive. I give it four stars because it works, but only four because I can see where it could be made better and stronger.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
worked like a charm saved data

By: hershel  on 2013-06-25

worked like a charm saved data transferred from an old crashed windows computer to a macbook pro save hundreds of $ compared to a data recovery service
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Just Purchased 06232013

By: RET-USMC  on 2013-06-23

Liked The Product & Reviews To Date, Will Edit This Review Upon Arrival and Usage On IDE & SATA, Purchased To Connect SATA To My IDE PC w/NAV360, Friends SATA HD, Seagate Barracuda 7200.10, Dell Optiplex 760 Intel Dual Core Desktop. The Dell Will Not Boot To Desktop, Shows Windows Logo w/Loading Bar Always Moving, He Is Using AVG For Antivirus, This Should Be a Good Troubleshooting Tool. Have Alot Of Older Win-98/SE IDE HDs, My PC Is Win-XP Pro Media SP3, Laptop Win-7, Have No Win-8 OS Yet, Like The 3.0 USB & Backwards To 2.0 & 1.1 Update: 29Jun13, Received Yesterday, Did Not Install CD Yet(Cloning), Installed The SATA Drive, Perfect Snug Fit, Ran It For Aprox 20Hrs Straight, Had Muffin Fan Cooling HDD & This Unit, My PC USB is 2.0, Scanned Using CCleaner, NAV360+TuneUp, Windows Defender (+1Millon Files), SpyBot & SpyBot Deep Root Scan. Liked The Activity LED. Will Try On Wifes Laptop Win-7 64 USB 3.0 Next Time. ONLY Thing I Did Not Like, The ON/Off Button Finger Slide, Slips Over The Internal Switch Itself, Since The Switch Is Recessed Into The Case, You Cannot Finger It On or Off, The Button Finger Slide Keeps Comming Off, Corrective Action: Alittle Dap Of Caulk, Press Finger Slide Back Onto Switch Stub, Which Is Pretty Durable, Should Never Loose The Button Finger Slide. Using This On 1 Of My IDE HDD Will Have To Use a IDE Ribbon Cable To Extend The Universal Adapter Away From IDE HDD To Allow Room For HDD Power Adapter Provided. Will Try a Desktop Ribbon That Supports Master/Slave, Maybe I Will Not Have To Mess w/HDD Jumpers, Just Plug Into Other IDE Ribon Connector. So Far I'am Very Pleased w/Construction & All Cable/Plug In Firm/Snug Connections, I Used It On a Flat Surface (Glass), Making Sure This Universal Adapter Is Level w/HDD Evenly When All Connected Together, All My Repairs Are Bench Repairs. Will Update This Review After More Hands On Experience Is Gained.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Worked great and did the job.

By: C. Ware  on 2013-06-23

The unit worked great and let me clone a failing hard drive to a new replacement drive. I have had no problems with it.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
As advertised

By: diyguy  on 2013-04-19

Only used it for some old laptop SATA drives. It has worked like a charm on these. I have another adapter that I have been using on IDE drives. I'll give this one a try and update if I have any issues. Only negative comment would be that the connection seems a little fragile. I think this is a lot about the connection type. I don't think any other device would be much different. If I want something robust to move around I'll buy an external HD. This is just to access HD's pulled from old machines, I only use these drive to archive at this point. Adapter works great for this function.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Like it

By: Mom  on 2013-03-05

Product works as stated. This was very simple to use (I really know little about computers) and I had no problems using it.
Product Rating:
5 out of 5 stars
Does as advertised.

By: Bill  on 2013-02-20

The device arrived very fast and was well packaged - both shipping carton and the products box. Easy setup. Easy to use. Follow the directions (minimal but enough to let you know what to do) and you will get done what is needed. Works as if you have inserted a "USB Thumb Drive". Data transfer is fast as it supports USB 3.0. Power switch in this device is integral to body of device so there is no power switch added somewhere along the power cord. Several issues in other product reviews pointed to problems with inline power cord mounted on/off switches. Reading reviews of these cheaper products alerted me to electrical issues including melting, switch failure, etc. so I decided to spend more money feeling you get what you pay for - and so far I am not disappointed. Both device and power transformer run cool, even after extended use (over four hours continuous duty). If I needed a second one, I would buy this again.
Product Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Good purchase

By: RAUL CASTRO CONDE A.  on 2012-12-06

Too bad it requires the adaptor for 3.5 SATA drive. No other accesories or cables are needed, execept for the ATA drive.